The Taste of Victor Hugo 

“I missed my vocation, said the Master of Contemplations, I was born to be a decorator”!

Hauteville House, an Ode to the flea market!

     Among all the residences of the poet, Hauteville House is  the most emblematic of his decorative taste.            Entirely furnished by him, it remains the house-work which Charles Hugo said was intended to           "education of the mind through living". For her, Hugo became foreman, led a team of painters and carpenters. to adorn mirror frames with flowers, butterflies and birds, bringing color into his work and creating a new register of images.And like his literary work Hugo will make his house a masterpiece.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.03.36.png

October 31, 1855  Victor Hugo leaves Jersey, second place of exile to go to an island still unknown  but which would become a land of asylum until 1870, then a land of vacation until 1878. The island of Guernsey, “island of fog”, as Madame Hugo nicknamed it.  

 

On a stormy day, he embarked on a frail skiff with a trunk containing important manuscripts not yet finished. There are among others the Contemplations, a part of Les Miserables, and a few other epics…

GUERNSEY AND HAUTEVILLE HOUSE

After spending a few days at the hotel, the Hugo family joined him and moved to 20 rue de Hauteville, then to a Georgian building, almost empty and, it was said, somewhat “haunted”. We camp, we rent second-hand furniture, whatever, the house is beautiful with the sea at its feet. From the windows, we admire the other islands of the Channel, the comings and goings of the boats. In the small garden, you can relax under the trellises and taste the grapes. Poor but happy. And it was then that the publication of  Contemplation  (April 1856) will change everything.  With success comes fortune. Victor Hugo buys the house, it will be "Hauteville House".  

He wrote to Georges Sand: “I have just bought a hovel here, with the first two editions of Contemplations. I'm going to build it up a bit and complete it…” And here he is, becoming an architect, cabinetmaker, upholsterer, sculptor, draftsman.

For 10 years he assiduously frequented all the flea markets on the island, the farms, the stalls and he transformed this rather ordinary-looking Georgian house into a  reliquary of carved wood, glass and tapestries, pearls and gold with dazzling reflections.               The whole, seen from our 21st century, somewhat resembling Ali Baba's cave and even  sometimes bordering on "the gothic-medieval over-overload!"

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.54.08.png
Victore Hugo's bedroom and office
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.54.21.png

the library made of cupboards bought in flea markets 

Indeed Hauteville House is unique in everything. The poet brings together German Gothic and French Gothic in a single ensemble with his sculpted oak virgins, the Chinese dragons, the delicate tapestry of Louis XV's mistress,  the hangings, the brocades, the chandeliers of Venice, the long gilded mirrors of the Age of Enlightenment. He seems to have a passion for mirrors, the house has 56 of them! It will take ten years to accomplish this prodigious work.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.02.13.png
the big red living room
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.57.24.png
the dining room and its fireplace in Delft tiles "salvaged for almost nothing" during a sale of a
Hôtel de la ville and forming H like Hauteville, House and Hugo.

The decorative style of Victor Hugo often works on the oxymoron, or the antithesis: "the old Chinese Holland". He likes to combine Chinese and Gothic elements, Flemish tapestries and Turkish rugs, Delft tiles and Japanese porcelain. He composes his ceilings by framing Aubusson hangings with sculpted oak borders. He builds the fireplaces – emblems of the home par excellence – like veritable cathedrals. He integrates objects – bead tapestries, torch-bearing slaves, antique furniture and uses entire porcelain services as a decorative material. He invents his own furniture by reassembling the dismembered elements of old chests or cupboards.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.56.43.png
The small white living room, room for rest and meditation
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.04.39.png
the "look-out", veranda on the roof, room for rest and writing
the "look-out", veranda placed on the roof, room for rest and writing, with its thick pile of faience to heat the winter and protect against humidity
Tiered sofas, covered with Turkish rugs, hide the slope of the roof, a basement and a tiled stove, a few mirrors, make up all the furnishings. In 1864, Hugo added a frieze and engraved and painted panels.
2021-11-02 11.26.48 copie.jpg
2021-11-02 11.26.33 copie.jpg

Chez Juliette Drouette, tableware and porcelain service on the wall in a Chinese decor.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.04.53.png
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.03.57.png

Victor Hugo continued the development of the top floor between 1861 and 1862 by having an entirely glazed room built on the roof which he called the look-out, in the extension of his study which then became the antechamber. The look-out has become the emblem of the house, the place par excellence for writing. Facing the sea, on removable tablets Hugo will write some of his masterpieces: The Workers of the Sea, The Man Who Laughs, Theater in Freedom.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 15.19.23.png
Hauteville House seen from the garden

    ALSO READ

Le goût de KARL LAGERFELD
Le goût de CHRISTIAN DIOR
Le goût de HUBERT de GIVENCHY

Le Goût de Victor Hugo 

« J’ai manqué ma vocation, disait le maître des Contemplations, J’étais né pour être décorateur » !

Hauteville House, une Ode à la brocante !

       Parmi toutes les demeures du poète, Hauteville House est  la plus emblématique de son goût décoratif.                    Entièrement aménagée par ses soins, elle reste la maison-œuvre dont Charles Hugo disait qu’elle visait à                 « l’éducation de l’esprit par la demeure". Pour elle, Hugo se fait contremaître, dirige une équipe de peintres et de menuisiers. Il donne des schémas d’exécution, des modèles de meubles. Il prend lui-même le pinceau pour orner de fleurs, de papillons et d’oiseaux des cadres de miroirs, faisant entrer la couleur dans son œuvre et créant un nouveau registre d’images. Et comme son œuvre littéraire Hugo va faire de sa maison une œuvre magistrale.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.03.36.png

Le 31 octobre 1855  Victor Hugo quitte Jersey, second lieu d’exil pour se rendre dans une île encore inconnue  mais qui deviendra terre d’asile jusqu’en 1870, puis terre de villégiature jusqu’en 1878. L’île de Guernesey, « île de brouillard », ainsi que la surnomme Madame Hugo. 

 

Par jour de gros temps, il embarque donc sur un frêle esquif avec une malle contenant d’importants manuscrits non encore terminés. Il y a là en autres les Contemplations, une partie des Misérables, et quelques autres épopées…

GUERNESEY ET HAUTEVILLE HOUSE

Après quelques jours passés à l’hôtel la famille Hugo le rejoint et s’installe au 20 de la rue de Hauteville, puis ils emménagent dans une bâtisse géorgienne, quasi vide et, disait-on, quelque peu « hantée ». On campe, on loue des meubles d’occasion, qu’importe, la maison est belle avec la mer à ses pieds. Des fenêtres, on admire les autres îles de la Manche, le va-et-vient des bateaux. Au petit jardin on se prélasse sous les treilles et on goûte le raisin. Pauvres mais heureux. Et c’est alors que la publication des  Contemplations  (avril 1856) va tout changer.  Avec le succès vient la fortune. Victor Hugo achète la maison, ce sera « Hauteville House ». 

Il écrit à Georges Sand : « Je viens d’acheter une masure ici, avec les deux premières éditions des Contemplations. Je vais la faire un peu bâtir et compléter…» Et le voilà qui devient architecte, ébéniste, tapissier, sculpteur, dessinateur.

Il met dix années pour accomplir ce travail prodigieux. Fréquente assidument les brocantes de l'île, les fermes, les échoppes et il transforme cette maison géorgienne d’allure assez ordinaire en un  reliquaire de bois sculpté, de verre et de tapisseries, de perles et d’or aux reflets éclatants. L'ensemble, vu de notre 21ème siècle, prenant quelque peu des allures de caverne d'Ali Baba et même  parfois frisant "l'over-dose gothico-médiévale! "

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.54.08.png
la chambre et le bureau de Victore Hugo
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.54.21.png

la bibliothèque faite d'armoires achetées dans des brocantes 

En effet Hauteville House est unique en tout. Le poète réunit dans un même ensemble le gothique allemand et le gothique français avec ses vierges de chêne sculpté, les dragons de la chine , les délicates tapisseries,  les tentures, les brocards, les lustres de Venise, les longs miroirs dorés du siècle des Lumières. Il semble avoir une passion pour les miroirs, la maison en compte 56!

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.02.13.png
le grand salon rouge
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.57.24.png
la salle à manger et sa cheminée en carreaux de Delft "récupérés pour presque rien" lors d'une vente d'un
Hôtel de la ville et formant H comme Hauteville, House et Hugo.

Le style décoratif de Victor Hugo fonctionne souvent sur l’oxymore, ou l’antithèse : « la vieille Hollande chinoise ». Il aime marier éléments chinois et gothiques, tapisseries flamandes et tapis turcs, carreaux de Delft et porcelaines japonaises. Il compose ses plafonds en encadrant de bordures de chêne sculpté les tentures d’Aubusson. Il construit les cheminées – emblèmes du foyer par excellence – comme de véritables cathédrales. Il intègre les objets – tapisseries de perles, esclaves porte-torche, meubles anciens et utilise des services entiers de porcelaine comme matière décorative. Il invente ses propres meubles en faisant réassembler les éléments démembrés de vieux coffres ou d’armoires.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 10.56.43.png
Le petit salon blanc, pièce de repos et de méditation
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.04.39.png
le "look-out," véranda posée sur le toit, pièce de repos et d'écriture
Des canapés à étages, recouverts de tapis turcs, y dissimulent la pente du toit, un soubassement et un poêle de faïence, quelques miroirs, en constituent tout l’ameublement. En 1864, Hugo y ajoute une frise et des panneaux gravés et peints.
2021-11-02 11.26.48 copie.jpg
2021-11-02 11.26.33 copie.jpg

Chez Juliette Drouette, vaisselle et service de porcelaine au mur dans un décor chinoisant. Visble à Paris Maison de Victor Hugo, place des Vosges. ©estheteplace

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.04.53.png
Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 11.03.57.png

Victor Hugo poursuit l’aménagement du dernier étage entre 1861 et 1862 en faisant construire sur le toit, une pièce entièrement vitrée qu’il appelle le look-out, dans le prolongement de son cabinet de travail qui en devient alors l’antichambre. Le look-out est devenu l’emblème de la maison, le lieu par excellence de l’écriture. Face à la mer, sur des tablettes amovibles Hugo écrira certains de ses chefs-d’oeuvre : Les Travailleurs de la mer, L’Homme qui rit, Théâtre en liberté.

Capture d’écran 2022-01-16 à 15.19.23.png
Hauteville House vue du jardin

   A LIRE AUSSI

Le goût de KARL LAGERFELD
Le goût de CHRISTIAN DIOR
Le goût de HUBERT de GIVENCHY