Philippe Biancotto

Philippe Biancotto

Ready-Melts, VILLA SAVOYE

Photographing the ephemeral

until December 12, 2021 at Villa Savoye

November 15, 2021
Philippe Biancotto
P. Biancotto at home, Werner Epstein lamp, Prouvé chair

The Center des monuments nationaux is presenting the “Ready-Melts” exhibition at the Villa Savoye, by Philippe Biancotto, photographer and visual artist. His work could be inspired by surrealism by the place given to dreams and the unconscious, but he deconstructs genres as quickly as he melts his models.

He chooses to endanger the perennial and to divert objects loaded with memory and affects that have reached the status of icon-objects. By working with ice, he transforms fashion accessories, furniture and rooms from the Villa Savoye into perishable sculptures that explain insecurity, the disorganized flight of time. Atoms and paradigms are reversed, perfection is broken: the liquid becomes solid, water becomes a supporting structure. Melting ice is both indolent and violent

Philippe walks his long silhouette of a dancer in this iconic place that he appropriates and transposes it into  thirteen photographs presented in the visit trail on the 1st floor of the villa. Little by little in each room they discover themselves and  resonate. With humor Dream Cream appears in the kitchen, the variations on the LC2 armchair in the living room, while Talons or Revolver inhabit the master bedroom, exuding a presence in a home that comes alive, in the bathroom, the The ice revolver gives way to a wet trace and the hand becomes a revolver ...

“This exhibition is the materialization of an idea: balance and duration. The ice has imposed itself on me as the obvious support, it keeps an object assembled, replaces a truncated part and ensures its stability for a short time; then cast iron and gravity do their work, the photograph freezes this moment of grace.

Passionate about architecture, I could not help but be inspired by Le Corbusier, and the Villa Savoye, a major building of 20th century architecture, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, has become a magnificent setting for Ready-Melts. ” PB

see more click on the image

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

READ MORE

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

Interior designer

Jean Louis Gaillemin

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Art historian - Photographer

Edith Theret

Edith Theret

Master glassmaker

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artist

Philippe Biancotto

Philippe Biancotto

Ready-Melts, VILLA SAVOYE

Photographier l’éphémère

par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

15 novembre 2021
Philippe Biancotto
P. Biancotto chez lui, lampe Werner Epstein, chaise Prouvé ©estheteplace

Le Centre des monuments nationaux présente à la villa Savoye l’exposition « Ready-Melts » réalisée par Philippe Biancotto, photographe et plasticien. Son travail pourrait s’inspirer du surréalisme par la place donnée au rêve et à l’inconscient, mais il déconstruit les genres aussi vite qu’il fait fondre ses modèles.

Il choisit de mettre en danger le pérenne et de détourner des objets chargés de mémoire et d’affects ayant atteint le statut d’objets-icônes. En travaillant la glace, il transforme accessoires de mode, mobiliers et pièces de la villa Savoye en sculptures périssables qui explicitent l’insécurité, la fuite désorganisée du temps. Les atomes et les paradigmes s’inversent, la perfection est cassée : le liquide devient solide, l’eau devient structure porteuse. La fonte de la glace est à la fois indolente et violente.

Philippe promène sa longue silhouette de danseur dans ce lieu iconique qu'il s'approprie, et le transpose en  treize photographies présentées dans le parcours de visite au 1er étage de la villa. Peu à peu dans chaque pièce elles se découvrent et  entrent en résonance. Avec humour Dream Cream figure dans la cuisine, les variations sur le fauteuil LC2 dans le salon, tandis que Talons ou Revolver habitent la chambre des maîtres de maison, distillant une présence dans une demeure qui s’anime, dans la salle de bain, le révolver de glace laisse place à une trace mouillée et la main devient révolver...

“Cette exposition est la matérialisation d’une idée : l’équilibre et la durée. La glace s’est imposée à moi comme le support évident, elle maintient assemblé un objet, remplace une partie tronquée et assure sa stabilité pour une courte durée ; puis la fonte et la gravité font leur œuvre, la photographie fige cet instant de grâce.

Passionné d’architecture je ne pouvais qu’être inspiré par Le Corbusier, et la villa Savoye édifice majeur de l’architecture du XXe siècle, inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco, devient pour Ready-Melts un magnifique écrin.” PB

voir plus cliquer sur l'image

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

A LIRE AUSSI

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

Designer d'intérieur

Jean Louis Gaillemin

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Historien d'art - Photographe

Edith Theret

Edith Théret

Maître verrier

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artiste