The Taste of Nestor Pekal

Architect, designer, scenographer and gallery owner, a key figure in 1980s design, the Museum of Decorative Arts and Design in Bordeaux is devoting an exhibition to him and a monograph is devoted to him and Norma editions publishes a monograph" Nestor Perkal".

by Elisabeth  Védrenne
Nestor Perkal-7615 copie 2.jpg
©estheteplace

Nestor is a solar creator, and his discretion hides a great passion, an affective, an unbridled creator, a workaholic. From his distant Argentina, he brings back a definitive taste for traditional materials and know-how as well as colors. The fragrant leather of its benches, carpets and other seats mixing sheepskin (Oscarmaschera) undoubtedly comes from the "caballito blanco" who enchanted his childhood with his marvelous saddles.

Nestor Perkal-7654.jpg
Tangram table by Massimo Morozzi, centerpiece by Ronan Bouroullec, Filicudi table  de   Sottsass associates, chairs by  Nestor Perkal, "de collectionneurs" furniture designed by Nestor Perkal, on the wall photographs by Ingar Krauss, Robert Mapplethorpe, David Douard… and embroidered works by Chiachio & Gianone 
Nestor Perkal-7579.jpg
Vases by Ettore Sottsass; photographs by Denis Darzac, Dino Dinco and Ronald Gerber

And the Immigrant that he is doubly, through his Polish Jewish grandparents who settled in South America, gives him a taste for a quest for identity, hence his pretty multicolored mirrors. And the attraction to home, shelter, security. Admittedly, the architect finds himself in his own very structured objects, but it is the passenger compartments in the interiors that attract this nomad. He can just as easily make an arbor out of chestnut logs made by craftsmen from Limousin for the gardens of Chaumont-sur-Loire as he can design bed enclosures. A feeling that makes him dare to mix things up, the poor and the rich, the raw and the refined. Expert in scenography but also crazy about travels, he brings back many ideas and nuggets. The gold of the Buddhas of Burma, the silver of Mexico where he often goes and where his sumptuous jewels chiseled with golden amber come from.

Nestor Perkal-7590.jpg
in the entrance carpet and “Chaise Longue Barroca” by Javier Mariscal; “Vaca colgada” mirror and Nestor Perkal design chandelier
Nestor Perkal-7656.jpg
on a “caballito Blanco” table/seat designed by Nestor Perkal for Oscarmaschera, pieces by Tony Craag and   Hibino. Feltri armchair by Gaetano Pesce, Kristall table by Michele De Lucchi; photo by Berard Faucon 

The Italy of the 80s made him the first discoverer and importer of Memphis in Paris in 1982. Nestor is a bulimic curiosity crossbred with a keen taste for discovery. Generous, friendly, inventive, he likes to introduce others. Whether in his gallery in the Marais where for 10 years he exhibited Pierre Charpin as well as Enzo Mari or his great friend Nathalie Du Pasquier, or as artistic director of Algorithme by inviting young designers, Sylvain Dubuisson, Éric Jourdan, etc. . …. Or when he directs the CRAFT, Research Center on Fire and Earth in Limoges where, from 1994 to 2009, he works with Ron Arad as well as great artists like Javier Perez, Vim Delvoye, among others.

Nestor Perkal-7651.jpg
ceramics, Nathalie du Pasquier
Nestor Perkal-7647.jpg
drawing by Larco and Mexican objects 

His very sure taste for contemporary art has made him a great photo collector. It seems that the first name Nestor means Traveler and no doubt Nestor Perkal was predestined to shake up conventions. But above all, what would the soul of design be for fifty years without it?  

Nestor Perkal-7582.jpg
library and collection of contemporary art photos
Nestor Perkal-7641.jpg
terracotta bust, Photograph by Ettore Sottsass, vase  by Jean-Philippe Aubanel 
Nestor Perkal-7630.jpg
Nestor Perkal-7626.jpg
Mirror made at CIRVA in Marseille design Nestor Perkal;   at the back vases by Alesandro Mendini, Ron Arad, Weiki Somers …
Couverture Livre Nestor Perkal, edition NORMA.JPG
Invitation Nestor Perkal Bdx.png

Nestor Perkal - Architect, Scenographer, Designer 

Author Jeanne Quéheillard 

Graphic design Carole Daprey

Editorial coordination Maïté Hudry and Matthieu Flory

 

Already on sale at MADD Bordeaux, Museum of Decorative Arts and Design during the Nestor Perkal exhibition from October 6 to January 8, 2023   and at the Museum of Decorative Arts in Paris from October 12 

It will be available in bookstores from November 4th 

Exhibition at the Museum of Decorative Arts and Design in Bordeaux:

Nestor Perkal - Des années 80 à aujourd’hui, une figure clé de la culture du design en France

from 06.10.2022 to 08.01.2023

https://madd-bordeaux.fr/exhibitions/nestor-perkal
 
©copyright photos ©estheteplace

Le Goût de Nestor Pekal

Architecte, designer, scénographe et galeriste, figure clé du design des années 1980,

le Musée des Arts Décoratifs et du Design de Bordeaux lui consacre une exposition

et une monographie lui est consacrée aux éditions Norma. 

par Elisabeth  Védrenne
Nestor Perkal-7615 copie 2.jpg
©estheteplace

Nestor est un créateur solaire, et sa discrétion cache un grand passionné, un affectif, un créateur débridé, un bourreau de travail. De sa lointaine Argentine, il rapporte un goût définitif des matières et des savoir-faire traditionnels ainsi que des couleurs. Le cuir odorant de ses banquettes, tapis et autres sièges mêlant la peau de mouton (Oscarmaschera) lui vient sans doute du « caballito blanco » qui enchanta son enfance avec ses merveilleuses selles.

Nestor Perkal-7654.jpg
table Tangram de Massimo Morozzi , centre de table de Ronan Bouroullec , table Filicudi  de   Sottsass associates, chaises de  Delo Lindo et fauteuils de  Nestor Perkal, meuble « de collectionneurs » design Nestor Perkal, au mur photographies de Ingar Krauss, Robert Mapplethorpe , David Douard… et ouvres brodés de Chiachio & Gianone 
Nestor Perkal-7579.jpg
Vases d’Ettore Sottsass; photographies de Denis Darzac, Dino Dinco et Ronald Gerber

Et l’Immigrant qu’il est doublement, par ses grands-parents juifs Polonais qui s’installèrent en Amérique du Sud, lui donne le goût d’une quête d’identité, d’où ses jolis miroirs multicolores. Et l’attrait pour la maison, l’abri, la sécurité. Certes l’architecte se retrouve dans ses propres objets très structurés mais ce sont les habitacles dans les intérieurs qui attirent ce nomade. Il peut aussi bien réaliser une tonnelle en rondins de châtaignier réalisée par des artisans du Limousin pour les jardins de Chaumont- sur- Loire que projeter des lit-clos. Un sentiment qui lui fait oser les mélanges, le pauvre et le riche, le brut et le raffiné. Expert en scénographie mais aussi fou de voyages, il en ramène moult idées et pépites. L’or des bouddhas de Birmanie, l’argent du Mexique où il se rend souvent et d’où viennent ses somptueux bijoux ciselés avec de l’ambre dorée.

Nestor Perkal-7590.jpg
dans l’entrée tapis et « Chaise Longue Barroca » de Javier Mariscal; Miroir « vaca colgada » et lustre design Nestor Perkal
Nestor Perkal-7656.jpg
sur une table/assise « caballito Blanco » design Nestor Perkal pour Oscarmaschera, pièces de Tony Craag et   Hibino. Fauteuil Feltri de Gaetano Pesce, table Kristall de Michele De Lucchi; photo de Berard Faucon 

L’Italie des années 80 ont fait de lui le premier découvreur et importateur de Memphis à Paris dès 1982. Nestor est un boulimique de la curiosité mâtiné d’un goût affuté de la découverte. Généreux, amical, inventif, il aime à faire découvrir les autres. Que ce soit dans sa galerie du Marais où pendant 10 ans il exposa aussi bien Pierre Charpin qu’Enzo Mari ou sa grande amie Nathalie Du Pasquier, que comme directeur artistique d’Algorithme en invitant de jeunes designers, Sylvain Dubuisson, Éric Jourdan, etc. …. Ou lorsqu’il dirige le CRAFT, Centre de Recherche sur les Arts du Feu et la Terre de Limoges où, de 1994 à 2009, il fait travailler aussi bien Ron Arad que de grands artistes comme Javier Perez, Vim Delvoye, entres autres. 

Nestor Perkal-7651.jpg
céramique, Nathalie du Pasquier
Nestor Perkal-7647.jpg
dessin de Larco et objets mexicains 

Son goût très sûr pour l’art contemporain a fait de lui un grand collectionneur de photos. Il parait que le prénom Nestor signifie Voyageur et sans doute Nestor Perkal était-il prédestiné à bousculer les conventions. Mais surtout, que serait depuis cinquante ans l’âme du design sans lui ?  

Nestor Perkal-7582.jpg
bibliothèque et collection de photos d'art contemporain
Nestor Perkal-7641.jpg
buste en terre cuite, Photographie d’Ettore Sottsass, vase  de Jean-Philippe Aubanel 
Nestor Perkal-7630.jpg
Nestor Perkal-7626.jpg
Miroir réalisé au CIRVA à Marseille design Nestor Perkal;  a l’arrière vases de Alesandro Mendini, Ron Arad, Weiki Somers …
Couverture Livre Nestor Perkal, edition NORMA.JPG
Invitation Nestor Perkal Bdx.png

Nestor Perkal - Architecte, Scénographe, Designer 

Auteure Jeanne Quéheillard 

Graphisme Carole Daprey

Coordination éditoriale Maïté Hudry et Matthieu Flory

 

Déjà en vente au MADD Bordeaux, Musée des Arts décoratifs et du Design pendant l’exposition Nestor Perkal du 6 octobre au 8 janvier 2023  et au Musée des Arts décoratifs de Paris à partir du 12 octobre 

Il sera disponible en librairies à partir du 4 Novembre 

Exposition Musée des Arts Décoratifs du Design de Bordeaux:

Nestor Perkal - Des années 80 à aujourd’hui, une figure clé de la culture du design en France

du 06.10.2022 au 08.01.2023

https://madd-bordeaux.fr/expositions/nestor-perkal
 
©copyright photos ©estheteplace