Manik Bagh palace.jpg
00000044_04.jpg
The Maharaja of Indore in 1877, and the Maharaja of Patiala in the 1920s
The Maharaja of Indore in 1877, and the Maharaja of Patiala in the 1920s

The singular history of the Maharajah of Indore , merges with the history of India and Europe of the XIXth and XXth centuries. He is undoubtedly one of the most emblematic and moving representative of a world forever gone.

           

Both Indian prince and European esthete, Yeshwant Rao Holkar Bahadur (1908-1961), belonged to the Holkar dynasty ruling since the 18th century over the kingdom of Indore, a huge territory located in central India, around 850 km southwest of New Delhi, now state of Madhya Pradesh.

108.jpg
1111.jpg
The Maharaja of Indore in 1877, and the Maharaja of Patiala in the 1920s
IMG_0606 copie 2.JPG
1 135888567_10220881561292951_6827379529
Le Maharaja d'Indore by Bernard Boutet de Monvel, circa 1930

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

While following the classic training of young Maharajahs of his time and rank: studies in the best English colleges and trips through Europe and the United States, the young prince, initiated by his tutor Dr. Marcel Hardy and advised by Henri-Pierre Roché, writer, artist, collector and collection advisor, stands out with a passion and a taste for the avant-garde of his time, which he will share with his young wife, Maharani Sanyogita Devi.

Capture d’écran 2021-01-21 à 10.27.49.
3907cfbe08cd693dbdf9220f0c716ccd.jpg

1 & 2 Jacques Doucet's Hôtel Particulier was Located at 33 Rue Saint James in Neuilly sur Seine, also Named 'Le Studio Saint James'

7 98002_0.png
an elegant young "socialite" couple

The prince during these trips to Paris, frequents salons, visits exhibitions, meets artists, couturiers, collectors.

His meeting with Jacques Doucet, presented through Henri-Pierre Roché, will be decisive.

In 1930, a visionary personality in the European cultural milieu of the 1920s and 1930s, the young prince and patron of the arts, commissioned the German architect Eckart Muthesius to restructure a building which would become the very first modernist construction in his country: the Manik Palace. Bagh (1930-1933).

2_eckart_muthesius_coiffeuse_-2.jpg
Eckart Muthesius, hairdresser
2.png
Entrance hall of the Manik Bagh Palace, © Muthesius
ecart Muthesius fauteuil copie.png
Eckart Muthesius, armchair

The interior decoration will be fully furnished with works and pieces of furniture created by the European avant-garde, ranging from the creators of the Union of Modern Artists to those of the Bauhaus school, as well as Eckart Muthesius.

A study made entirely of Macassar ebony by Jacques-Émile Rulhmann . On the floors, like gigantic abstract paintings, large carpets, in geometric and colorful shapes by Franco-Brazilian Ivan Da Silva Bruhns . Among its choices, many French houses: for lighting and table pieces, Maison Desny ; for the furniture (beds, lamps, armchairs…) the modernity of aluminum and glass by Louis Sognot and Charlotte Alix , or even Eileen Gray and her recliner chair, the rocking chaise longue by Le Corbusier, Perriand, Jeanneret… For tableware, houses, Jean Luce, Jean Puiforcat, Baccarat.

images.jpg
the bedroom of the Maharajah, Louis Sognot and Charlotte Alix, MAD reconstruction
10.png
the bedroom of the Maharajah, Louis Sognot and Charlotte Alix
6.png
5.png
Jacques-Émile Rulhmann's cabinet of Macassar
eckart Muthesius.png
lounge chair, Eckart Muthesius

For the arts, few chosen, Man Ray immortalizes this modern couple with his photos. Bernard Boutet de Monvel realizes their portraits in their dual culture, ball gowns and fracs alternate with traditional outfits. And finally, works by Etienne Cournault, which the prince had discovered at Jacques Doucet's, punctuate the walls of the palace with surrealist touches.

17 ca.png
© Man ray
19 1927.png
© Man ray
etienne Cournault poisson.jpg
© Man ray

The Maharajah visits the workshop of Constantin Brancusi and purchases one of his “birds in space” in gilded bronze. Two others, in white marble and black marble, will soon come to animate the living room in the absence of the "Temple of Meditation" project initially planned in the garden of the Palace, but which will not succeed, probably because of the arrival of the World War II and the death of the Maharani at the age of 21.

ac22567db5e11aeb491b15bd3fc4ea9d.jpg
© Man ray
download.jpg
© Man ray

Today the Manik Bagh Palace, which has become an administrative monument, seat of the post and customs office, has been subjected to many modifications but we still have these design objects, which by their clean lines, their materials and their ingenuity of extreme sophistication remain the design icons of the 1930s. They embody a visionary, cosmopolitan and uninhibited era where anything was possible.

MONOGRAMME.JPG

Manik Bagh palace.jpg
00000044_04.jpg
1ig 1 maquette projet de la résidence d'été du Maharajah
fig 2 photo retouchée du Palais Manik Bagh

L’histoire singulière du Maharajah d’Indore, se confond avec l’histoire de l’Inde et de l’Europe des XIXème et XXème siècles. Il est très certainement l’un des plus emblématique et émouvant représentant d’un monde à jamais disparu.

           

À la fois prince indien et esthète européen, Yeshwant Rao Holkar Bahadur (1908-1961), appartenait à la dynastie Holkar régnant depuis le XVIIIe siècle sur le royaume d’Indore, un immense territoire situé au centre de l’Inde, à environ 850 km au sud-Ouest de New Delhi, aujourd’hui état du Madhya Pradesh.

108.jpg
1111.jpg
Le Maharadja d’Indore en 1877, et le Maharadja de Patiala dans les années 20
IMG_0606 copie 2.JPG
1 135888567_10220881561292951_6827379529
Le Maharadja d’Indore par Bernard Boutet de Monvel, vers 1930

Tout en suivant la formation classique des jeunes Maharajah de son époque et de son rang: études dans les meilleurs collèges anglais et voyages à travers l’Europe et les Etats Unis, le jeune prince, initié par son précepteur le Dr Marcel Hardy et conseillé par Henri-Pierre Roché, écrivain, artiste, collectionneur et conseiller en collection, se singularise par une passion et un goût tourné vers l’avant-garde de son époque, qu’il partagera avec sa jeune épouse, la Maharani Sanyogita Devi.

Capture d’écran 2021-01-21 à 10.27.49.
3907cfbe08cd693dbdf9220f0c716ccd.jpg

 1  & 2   L'Hôtel Particulier de Jacques Doucet était Situé au 33 Rue Saint James à Neuilly sur Seine, également Nommé 'Le Studio Saint James'

7 98002_0.png
un jeune couple "socialite", élégant 

Le prince lors de ces voyages à Paris, fréquente les salons, visite les expositions, rencontre les artistes, couturiers, collectionneurs.

Sa rencontre avec Jacques Doucet, présenté par l’entremise de Henri-Pierre Roché, sera déterminante.

En 1930, personnalité visionnaire du milieu culturel européen des années 1920-1930, le jeune prince et mécène, commandite à l’architecte allemand Eckart Muthesius , la restructuration d’un édifice qui deviendra la toute première construction moderniste de son pays : le palais Manik Bagh (1930-1933).

2_eckart_muthesius_coiffeuse_-2.jpg
Eckart Muthésius, coiffeuse
2.png
Hall d'entrée du palais Manik Bagh, ©Muthesius
ecart Muthesius fauteuil copie.png
Eckart Muthésius, fauteuil

La décoration intérieure sera intégralement aménagée avec des œuvres et des pièces de mobilier créées par l’avant-garde européenne, allant des créateurs de l’Union des artistes modernes à ceux de l’école,  du Bauhaus, ainsi qu Eckart Muthésius.

Un cabinet de travail réalisé  en ébène de Macassar de Jacques-Émile Rulhmann. Aux sols, comme de gigantesques tableaux abstraits, de grands tapis, aux formes géométriques et colorés du Franco-Brésilien Ivan Da Silva Bruhns.  Parmi ses choix, de nombreuses maisons françaises : pour les luminaires et des pièces de table, la Maison Desny ; pour le mobilier la modernité de l’aluminum et du verre de Louis Sognot et Charlotte Alix, la Maison DIM, Djo-Bourgeois, Marcel Breuer, Hans et Wassili Luckhardt, ou bien encore Eileen Grey et son fauteuil transat, la chaise longue  à bascule de Le Corbusier, Perriand, Jeanneret… Pour les arts de la table, les maisons, Jean Luce, Jean Puiforcat, Baccarat...

images.jpg
la chambre du Maharajah, Louis Sognot et Charlotte Alix, reconstition MAD
10.png
la chambre du Maharajah, Louis Sognot et Charlotte Alix
6.png
5.png
le cabinet de Macassar de Jacques-Émile Rulhmann
eckart Muthesius.png
chaise longue, Eckart Muthesius

Pour les arts, peu d’élus, Man Ray immortalise par ses clichés ce couple moderne. Bernard Boutet de Monvel réalise leurs portraits dans leur double culture, robes de bal et fracs alternent avec tenues traditionnelles. Des œuvres et des sculptures d’Etienne Cournault, que le prince avait découvert chez Jacques Doucet, et de Robj , ponctuent les murs du palais de touches surréalistes.

17 ca.png
© Man ray
19 1927.png
©Man ray
etienne Cournault poisson.jpg
©Etienne Cournault

Le Maharajah visite l'atelier de Constantin Brancusi et fait l’acquisition d’un de ses « oiseau dans l’espace » en bronze doré. Deux autres, en marbre blanc et en marbre noir, viendront bientôt animer le salon à défaut du "Temple de la Méditation" projet initialement prévu dans le jardin du Palais, mais qui n’aboutira pas, probablement à cause de l’arrivée de la seconde guerre Mondiale et du décès de la Maharani à l'âge de 21 ans.

ac22567db5e11aeb491b15bd3fc4ea9d.jpg
©Constantin Brancusi  Oiseau dans l'espace
download.jpg
©Constantin Brancusi  Oiseau dans l'espace

Aujourd’hui le palais Manik Bagh, devenu un monument administratif, siège du bureau des postes et douanes, a été soumis à de nombreuses modifications mais il nous reste ces objets de design, qui par leurs lignes épurées, leurs matériaux et leur ingéniosité d’une sophistication extrême, restent les icônes du design de ces années 1930. Ils incarnent une époque visionnaire, cosmopolite et décomplexée où tout était possible.

MONOGRAMME.JPG