Mattia Bonetti Esthete Place 3 BD.JPG

Mattia Bonetti

The Denim Armchair and Floor Lamp

By Serge Gleizes

22 November 2021
Mattia Bonetti Esthete Place JPG
Mattia  sitting on the "Denim" armchair © estheteplace

 

 

Designed in 2005, the Denim armchair and floor lamp were presented for the first time in 2007 at the Galerie Italienne in Paris. And in fifteen years, neither of them has aged a bit! “The idea was simple,” says Mattia Bonetti, “it was a matter of working on disproportionate shapes to then dress an armchair and a floor lamp in the most famous and worn canvas in the world. It all grew out of an observation, or rather a criticism of the surge of clothing in custom jeans that were then sold for exorbitant prices in the 2000s. What interested me was to reinterpret the codes of denim, to make luxury out of a simple material, to work on a form of excess, of exaggeration. "

So he went to the Flea Market to buy old clothes in jeans which were washed and cut, then assembled and sewn back into a skilful patchwork. Close to haute couture, the said tapestry then dressed the carcass with an ultra comfortable armchair, a nod to a Napoleon III low chair, handcrafted with springs and horsehair trim.  

 

Each creation of Mattia Bonetti is a pamphlet. A baroque and playful demonstration, always poetic, which zooms in on the zeitgeist of an era. Acquiring one of his works is therefore buying a vision of things, a story that we reclaim. It is in this wake that he gave birth to emblematic creations born from the finest know-how and craftsmanship. These pieces which marked the spirits since the 1990s, are presented in flagship galleries, Néotu, Waiting for the barbarians, Avant-Scène in Paris, the David Gill gallery in London, the Paul Kasmin gallery in New York, and were also exhibited in the largest museums in the world.

In the last things done, he has just participated in the Re born Project exhibition organized by the Italian manufacture Ginori 1735 at the Pierre Passebon gallery in Paris, presenting a table service and a porcelain cabinet, and he is already preparing the London edition which will take place at the David Gill gallery in 2022. His agenda is still as busy, between private orders for furniture which then fly to New York, London, and Switzerland, and a next line of rugs  for the contemporary carpet brand Diurne.

THE CHOICE of Mattia Bonetti for ESTHETE PLACE

Mattia Bonetti fauteuil denim  unique must have
24515024515 insta.jpg
Mattia Bonetti lampadaire denim unique must have
24568024568 insta.jpg

Armchair   "Denim", UNIQUE piece.

Year 2007

Materials: fabric, wood, keys, chains, leather

H 90 cm x W 100 cm x D 100 cm

H 35.43 x L 39.37 x W 39.37 in

€38,000

Floor lamp "Denim", UNIQUE piece.

Year 2007

Materials: fabric, wood, keys, chains, leather

H 220 XL 80 XP 40 cm

H 86.6 XL 31.5 X W 15.7 in

€27,500

READ MORE

nicolas lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artist

jean-Louis Gaillemin

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Art historian - Photographer

Georgina Letourmy Bordier

Georgina Letourmy-Bordier

Fans specialist

Philippe Biancotto

Philippe Biancotto

Photographer - Artist

Mattia Bonetti Esthete Place 3 BD.JPG

Mattia Bonetti

"Le Fauteuil et Le Lampadaire denim"

Par Serge Gleizes

22 novembre 2021
Mattia Bonetti Esthete Place JPG
Mattia  assis sur le fauteuil "Denim"©estheteplace

 

Dessinés en 2005, le fauteuil et le lampadaire Denim sont deux pièces uniques et exclusives. Elles furent présentés pour la première fois en 2007 à la Galerie Italienne à Paris. Et en quinze ans, ni l’un ni l’autre n’ont pris une ride ! « L’idée était simple, raconte Mattia Bonetti, il s’agissait de travailler sur des formes disproportionnées pour habiller ensuite un fauteuil et un lampadaire de la toile la plus connue et portée au monde. Tout cela est né d’une observation, ou plutôt d’une critique sur la déferlante de vêtements en jeans customisés qui étaient ensuite vendus à des prix exorbitants dans les années deux mille. Ce qui m’a intéressé, c’était de réinterpréter les codes du denim, de faire du luxe à partir d’une matière simple, de travailler sur une forme d’excès, d’exagération. »

Il se rendit donc aux Puces pour acheter de vieux vêtements en jeans qui furent lavés et découpés, puis assemblés et recousus en un savant patchwork. Proche de la haute couture, ladite tapisserie habilla ensuite la carcasse d’un fauteuil ultra confortable, clin d’œil à une chauffeuse Napoléon III, fabriquée de manière artisanale avec ressorts et garniture en crin.  

 

Chaque création de Mattia Bonetti est un pamphlet. Une démonstration baroque et ludique, toujours poétique qui opère un zoom sur l’air du temps d’une époque. Acquérir une de ses œuvres, c’est donc acheter une vision des choses, une histoire que l’on se réapproprie. C’est dans ce sillage qu’il a donné naissance à des créations emblématiques nées des plus beaux savoir-faire et métiers d’art. Ces pièces qui ont marqué les esprits dès les années 1990, sont présentées dans des galeries phares, Néotu, En attendant les barbares, Avant-Scène à Paris, la galerie David Gill à Londres, la galerie Paul Kasmin à New York, et ont été également exposées dans les plus grands musées du monde.

Dans les dernières choses réalisées, il vient de participer à l’exposition Re born Project organisée par la manufacture italienne Ginori 1735 à la galerie Pierre Passebon à Paris, en présentant un service de table et un cabinet en porcelaine, et il prépare déjà l’édition londonienne qui aura lieu à la galerie David Gill en 2022. Son agenda est toujours autant chargé, entre les commandes privées de mobilier qui s’envolent ensuite pour New York, Londres, et la Suisse, et une prochaine ligne de tapis  pour la marque de tapis contemporains Diurne.

LE CHOIX de Mattia Bonetti pour ESTHETE PLACE

Mattia Bonetti fauteuil denim  unique must have
24515024515 insta.jpg
Mattia Bonetti lampadaire denim unique must have
24568024568 insta.jpg

Fauteuil  "Denim", pièce UNIQUE.

Année 2007

Matières: tissu, bois, clefs, chaines, cuir

H 90 cm x L 100 cm x P 100 cm

H 35,43 x L 39,37 x W 39,37 in

38 000 EUR

Lampadaire "Denim", pièce UNIQUE.

Année 2007

Matieres: tissu, bois, clefs, chaines, cuir

H 220 X L 80 X P 40 cm

H 86,6 X L 31,5 X W 15,7 in

27 500 EUR

A LIRE AUSSI

nicolas lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artiste

jean-Louis Gaillemin

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Historien d'art - Photographe

Georgina Letourmy Bordier

Géorgina Letourmy-Bordier

Expert en Eventails

Philippe Biancotto

Philippe Biancotto

Photographe - Artiste