csm_Maison-Utopie_1600_73a239a881 copie.jpg

Mark Held,
Free man, you will always cherish your city! 

3dream of another city! From the megalopolis to the city of trees…”
by Véronique Dupard-Mandel

published on November 13, 2022
©estheteplace

The designer-architect, dreamer of 90 springs, offers us a beautiful gift: a book that encourages us to rethink the city.

 "Let's dream of another city! From the megalopolis to the city of trees…”, published in éditions Parenthèses, is a manifesto for a Villeneuve, in bio-growth, which offers alternatives in order to put an end to mass production and its dictates.

Marc Held: Eco-utopian agitator? Why not ?

 

The man whose one of his emblematic creations is an armchair called Culbuto (1967) kicks into the anthill of megalopolises and denies the city as it is conceived today, a simple product of our society, consumerist and destructive, ready for all abuses for ever more. Basta the deadly megalopolis, ever larger and inhuman for the sole benefit of promoters and other predators of our present times.

 

Response from the utopian architect: draw the contours of his dream city articulated around a new concept of bio-growth.

And the pillars of Marc's dream (and of his wisdom) are: Put an end to speculation on habitat - Establish a return to fraternity and the end of the "struggle for life" - Restore a balance in the sharing of resources - Tender towards “less is more” and this happy sobriety advocated by Pierre Rabhi – Rediscover autonomy and self-management – Educate children in the principle of equal opportunities in order to form free adults ...

 

Self-taught, photographer, designer and French architect, Marc Held was celebrated in the 1960s for his Culbuto armchair and a polyester double bed, designed for Prisunic. In 1983 he was asked to transform the grand salon of the Elysée Palace. In 1978 he built a house in Gif-sur-Yvette which he named "La maison de l'Utopie" a magnificent building of 350 m2 in corten steel, built on a 350 m2 protected natural area and marshland, an architectural challenge. In 1989 he chose to leave IBM to live his Greek period, and went to build in Skopelos, his own house, then about fifteen other residences. On this island in the Aegean Sea, he worked to put Greek craftsmen and their artisanal methods at the heart of his own philosophy: "Skopélos or tradition at the service of modernity".

Capture d’écran 2022-11-13 à 16.54.10.png

Marc Held

Let's dream of another city!

Preface by Gilles Perraudin 

Collection: Architecture
160 × 230 mm, 160 p., 2022.
ISBN 978-2-86364-388-4
Price: 22 €

csm_Maison-Utopie_1600_73a239a881 copie.jpg

Marc Held,
Homme libre, toujours tu chériras ta ville ! 

 « Rêvons d’une autre ville ! De la mégapole à la cité des arbres… »
par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

publié le 13 novembre 2022
©estheteplace

Le designer-architecte, rêveur de 90 printemps, nous offre un beau cadeau : un livre qui nous incite à repenser la ville.

 « Rêvons d’une autre ville ! De la mégapole à la cité des arbres… », publié aux  éditions Parenthèses, est un manifeste pour une Villeneuve, en bio-croissance, qui propose des alternatives afin d’en finir avec la production de masse et ses diktats.

Marc Held : Agitateur éco-utopique ? Pourquoi pas ?

 

L’homme dont l’une des créations emblématiques est un fauteuil dit « Culbuto » (1967) met un coup de pied dans la fourmilière des mégapoles et renie la ville tel qu’elle est conçue aujourd’hui, simple produit de notre société, consumériste et destructrice, prête à tous les abus pour le toujours plus. Basta la mégalopole mortifère, toujours plus vaste et inhumaine pour le seul profit des promoteurs et autres prédateurs de nos temps présents.

 

Réponse de l’ architecte utopiste : dessiner les contours de sa ville rêvée articulée autour d’un nouveau concept de bio-croissance.

Et les piliers du rêve de Marc (et de sa sagesse) sont : En finir avec la spéculation sur l’habitat – Instaurer un retour à la fraternité et la fin du « struggle for life » -Restaurer un équilibre du partage des ressources – Tendre vers le « less is more » et cette sobriété heureuse prônée par Pierre Rabhi – Retrouver l’autonomie et l’auto-gestion – Éduquer les enfants dans le principe de l’égalité des chances afin de former des adultes libres -

 

Autodidacte, photographe, designer et architecte français, Marc Held a été célébré dès les années 1960 pour son fauteuil Culbuto et un lit double en polyester, dessinés pour Prisunic. En 1983 il est sollicité pour transformer le grand salon du palais de l’Elysée. En 1978 il réalise une maison à Gif-sur-Yvette qu’il nommera  « La maison de l’Utopie », magnifique édifice de 350 m2 en acier corten, édifiée sur une  zone naturelle protégée et  marécageuse, un défi architectural.   En 1989 il choisi de quitter IBM pour vivre « sa période grecque », et  va construire à Skopelos,  sa propre maison, puis une quinzaines d’autres demeures. Sur cette île de la mer Égée, il a œuvré à mettre les artisans grecs et leurs méthodes artisanales au cœur de sa propre philosophie : « Skopélos ou la tradition au service de la modernité » 

Capture d’écran 2022-11-13 à 16.54.10.png

Marc Held

Rêvons d’une autre ville  !

Préface de Gilles Perraudin  

Collection : Architectures
160 × 230 mm, 160 p., 2022.
ISBN 978-2-86364-388-4
Prix : 22