Louis de Bayser  expert dessinsEsthete Place

Louis de Bayser, profession expert!

The drawing is the intimate part of the artist!
by Véronique Dupard-Mandel

February 7, 2022
Louis de Bayser Esthete Place
©estheteplace

Louis de Bayser, professional expert

The drawing is the intimate part of the artist!

 

Rue Sainte-Anne we knew the reputation of numbers 7, 11, 12, 17, 34, 47, 63*… each contributing in its own way to making the history of Paris, from the 17th century to the 70s and 80s, and here is the 69, high place of… expertise!

 

At the end of the courtyard, on the right, on the 1st floor and behind the large glass door, you can access the Holy of Holies of Drawing!

 

This is where Louis de Bayser and his 3 brothers, Patrick, Mathieu and Augustin officiate, because like the 3 musketeers, there are four of them and their field of action is drawing expertise, in other words, the "Queen" category !

 

Louis de Bayser, not quite fifty, with a youthful look, tells us about the job:

“You become an expert when you begin to have a certain vision of the field in which you work. At first it's foggy and it takes some time before a certain clarity appears, before the artist arises in a natural way in your brain at the sight of a drawing.  Expertise is a process that takes time.

It is acquired throughout a career, it is a bottomless pit. There is no plenitude, we are always learning. That's what's incredible about this job, we're always learning and it's very motivating! We have the impression of starting from a solid base but it consolidates each time we are presented with a new drawing. »

The drawing is the intimate part of the artist!

The painters formatted, during the XVIth, XVIIth and XVIIIth centuries, by the official orders express themselves in a more intimate way through the drawing, more natural, more free.

Louis et Mathieu de Bayser Esthete Place
Mathieu and Louis de Bayser ©estheteplace

At the Cabinet de Bayser, the quartet, sometimes joined by the conductor Bruno de Bayser - father, expertise in works from the 15th to the 20th centuries.  With a predilection for  the 16th Italian:  The 16th century is the domain of drawing excellence, from Zuccaro to Michelangelo, from the Florentine mannerists to the Roman classics. The 16th century is the pinnacle of the art of drawing in the period which is our expertise. »

Until the 19th century, drawing, highly developed in teaching and in workshops, always had an important role in student learning. The masters gave drawings to be copied or reproduced. This explains why a large part of the drawings remain anonymous. Surroundings, workshops, schools… And then, conversely, a drawing  can be attributed with certainty, either because it is preparatory to a painting, or because it resembles all the drawings that are part of the artist's corpus. There are irrefutable elements such as the technique, the paper of the time, beams that agree to say with certainty that the drawing is by such an artist.

Thus the experts investigate, scrutinize, analyze the beauty of the curve, the drawing of a line, the strength of the black stone, the smoothness of the pencil, the grease or the dryness of the pastel, the warmth of the sanguine, the transparency of the Chinese ink, the modeling of a wash, the chiaroscuro of charcoal, without forgetting watercolor and gouache... With the precision of a scientist, they evaluate the mastery of the technique or the gesture, track down the origin matter, and with the intuition of experience and the genius of the detective, they deliver to you, or not, the name of the little master or the great!

 

Louis de Bayser is also president of Fine Arts Paris and of the drawing fair.

 

* https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rue_Sainte-Anne_(Paris)

Louis et Mathieu de Bayser  expertEsthete Place
Mathieu and Louis de Bayser, in the grand salon of the Bayser gallery ©estheteplace
FOLLOW THE SALE of 10 & 11/02/2022  - Beaussant Lefevre & Associates   ANCIENT DRAWINGS, PAINTINGS - ULLMANN COLLECTION -  HERE

Experts:

ANCIENT and MODERN DRAWINGS

Bayser's office

Patrick and Augustin de Bayser

READ MORE

M Bonetti Esthete Place

Mattia Bonetti

Designate

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artist

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

Photographer - Artist

5N7B5796_ BD.JPG

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Art historian - Photographer-journalist

Louis de Bayser  expert dessinsEsthete Place

Louis de Bayser, profession expert

Le dessin c’est la part intime de l’artiste !
par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

publié le 7 février 2022
Louis de Bayser Esthete Place
©estheteplace

Rue Sainte-Anne on connaissait la réputation des numéros 7, 11, 12, 17, 34, 47, 63*… chacun concourant à sa manière à faire l’histoire de Paris, du XVIIème siècle aux années 70/80, et voici le 69, haut lieu de… l’expertise !

 

Au fond de la cour, à droite, au 1er étage et derrière la grande porte vitrée, on accède au Saint des Saints du Dessin!

 

C’est ici qu’officient Louis de Bayser et ses 3 frères, Patrick, Mathieu et Augustin, car comme les 3 mousquetaires, ils sont quatre et leur domaine d’action c’est l’expertise en dessin, autrement dit, la catégorie reine !

 

Louis de Bayser, pas tout à fait la cinquantaine, l’allure juvénile, nous raconte le métier :

« On devient expert à partir du moment où l’on commence à avoir une certaine vision du domaine dans lequel on travaille. Au début c’est le brouillard et il faut un certain temps avant qu’apparaisse une certaine clarté, que l’artiste surgisse d’une manière naturelle dans votre cerveau à la vue d’un dessin.  L’expertise c’est un cheminement qui prend du temps.

Elle s’acquiert tout au long d’une carrière, c’est un puit sans fond. Il n’y a pas de plénitude, on est toujours en train d’apprendre. C’est ce qu’il a d’incroyable dans ce métier, on est toujours en train d’apprendre et c’est très motivant ! On a l’impression de partir d’une base solide mais elle se consolide chaque fois que l’on nous présente un nouveau dessin. »

Le dessin c’est la part intime de l’artiste !

Les peintres formatés, au cours du XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIème siècles, par les commandes officielles s’expriment de façon plus intime à travers le dessin, plus naturelle, plus libre.

Louis et Mathieu de Bayser Esthete Place
Mathieu et Louis de Bayser ©estheteplace

Au Cabinet de Bayser, le quatuor, rejoint parfois par le chef d’orchestre Bruno de Bayser - père, expertise des oeuvres du XVème jusqu’au XXème.  Avec une prédilection pour  le XVIème Italien : «  Le XVIème est le domaine de l’excellence du dessin, de Zuccaro à Michel-Ange, des maniéristes florentins aux classiques romains. Le XVIème est le summum de l’art du dessin dans la période qui est notre expertise. »

Jusqu’au 19ème , le dessin très développé dans l’enseignement et dans les ateliers a toujours eu un rôle important dans l’apprentissage des élèves. Les maîtres donnaient des dessins à copier ou à reproduire. Ceci explique qu’une grande partie des dessins restent anonymes. Entourages, ateliers, écoles… Et puis à contrario un dessin  peut être attribuable avec certitude, soit parce qu’il est préparatoire d’un tableau, ou qu’il ressemble à tous les dessins qui font partie du corpus de l’artiste. Il y a des éléments irréfutables comme la technique, le papier de l’époque, des faisceaux qui concordent pour dire avec certitude que le dessin est de tel artiste.

Ainsi les experts investiguent, scrutent, analysent la beauté de la courbe, le tracé d’une ligne, la force de la pierre noire, le lissé du crayon, le gras ou le sec du pastel, la chaleur de la sanguine, la transparence d’une encre de chine, le modelé d’un lavis, le clair-obscur du fusain, sans oublier l’aquarelle et la gouache… Avec la précision du scientifique, ils évaluent la maîtrise de la technique ou du geste, traquent l’origine de la matière, et avec l’intuition de l’expérience et le génie du détective, ils vous délivrent, ou pas, le nom du petit maître ou du grand !

 

Louis de Bayser, est également président de Fine Arts Paris et du salon du dessin.

 

* https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rue_Sainte-Anne_(Paris)

Louis et Mathieu de Bayser  expertEsthete Place
Mathieu et Louis de Bayser, dans le grand salon de la galerie de Bayser ©estheteplace
SUIVRE LA VENTE du 10 & 11/02/2022  - Beaussant Lefèvre & Associés     DESSINS, TABLEAUX ANCIENS - COLLECTION ULLMANN -  ICI

Experts :

DESSINS ANCIENS et MODERNES

Cabinet de BAYSER

Patrick et Augustin de BAYSER

A LIRE AUSSI

M Bonetti Esthete Place

Mattia Bonetti

Designer

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artiste

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

architecte d'intérieur

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Jean-Louis Gaillemin

Historien d'art - Photographe-journaliste