José Lévy Leblon Delienne KOKESHI

Jose Levy,
Leblon Delienne

The Master of KOKESHI!
by Véronique Dupard-Mandel

Posted on April 17, 2022
José Lévy KOKESHI silhouette collab Leblon delienne

©estheteplace

Marceline Loridan-Ivens said that we are at the age of our trauma. When you meet José Lévy, you can also think that you are at the age of his enchantment.

Thus, it would be possible that José's childhood, with grandparents immersed in culture and the art of living  Japanese has enchanted him forever. And, that he retains an irresistible desire to enchant us in turn.

 

His fascination for Kokeshis, these little ancestral dolls in lacquered wood without arms or legs that make us think of bowling pins, he transposed it into an ultra-contemporary and even meta-futuristic world.

 

Thus the designer-plastician, has created, in collaboration with the Leblon Delienne house, five stylized Kokeshis, oversized (from 90 cm to 2.80 m), black like a painting by Soulages, matte or ultra shiny, of different materials (leather , burnt wood, lacquers, resins).

 

This first series is captivating: placed on a floor that could be marble, in  diamond point, tatami or giant chessboard, they look like a small courtyard. We imagine this Queen or princess and these subjects, favorites or ladies… Rook, Bishop, Knight or simple Pawn.  Perhaps because these dolls, seemingly innocent, hide a more complex identity. In the Japanese tradition, the pretty and nice Kokeshi, made in the wood of the forests of the North-West (Tōhoku region) place where shamanic traditions still persist today, have indeed a plural function. “Kawaii” and Worrying. According to  popular legend they guarantee wisdom, good health, a fulfilled life, they were offered to children at the beginning of winter and on sunny days they were burned.  But it is also common to send them in place of a child who did not come, or who did not come, in this we find similarities with the cultures of the Hopi Indians of Arizona and their "Kashina" or many Yorubas of Nigeria and their “Ibedji”  celebrating the cult of twins.

 

It would therefore be possible that all these representations of spirits, pranksters, mischievous, benevolent or malevolent, constitute a sort of inventory of the visible and invisible world. It is therefore logical that, thanks to a pandemic which paralyzed the Kokeshi project of José Lévy and  Juliette de Blegiers, the very spirit of JL, would have been bewitched. Letting emerge, for our greatest happiness, forty-six new virtual silhouettes. These colorful and turbulent, those twirling like a dervish or a spinning top and finished in the form of NFT.

José Lévy Meurice fauteuils Philippe Stark

©estheteplace

Discover them here 👉🏼  https://urlz.fr/hN7m
And join us on discord:  https://lnkd.in/dEUmcUjR

READ ALSO

M Bonetti Esthete Place

Mattia Bonetti

Designate

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artist

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

interior designer

Romain Coulet Esthete place

Romain Coulet

Expert in 20th century design

José Lévy Leblon Delienne KOKESHI

José Levy,
Leblon Delienne

Le Maître des KOKESHI!
par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

Publié le 17 avril 2022
José Lévy KOKESHI silhouette collab Leblon delienne

©estheteplace

Marceline Loridan-Ivens disait que l’on a l’âge de son traumatisme. A la rencontre de José Lévy on peut aussi penser que l’on a l’âge de son enchantement.

Ainsi, il serait possible que l’enfance de José, auprès de grands-parents immergés dans la culture et l’art de vivre  japonais l’ait enchanté pour toujours. Et, qu’il en garde une irrésistible envie de nous enchanter à son tour.

 

Sa fascination pour les Kokeshi, ces petites poupées ancestrales en bois laqué sans bras ni jambe qui nous font penser à des quilles, il l’a transposée dans un monde ultra contemporain et même méta-futuriste.

 

Ainsi le designer-plasticien, a créé, en collaboration avec la maison Leblon Delienne, cinq Kokeshis stylisées, surdimensionnées (de 90 cm à 2,80 m), noires comme un tableau de Soulages, mates ou ultra brillantes, de différentes matières (cuir, bois brulé, laques, résines).

 

Cette première série est envoutante : posées sur un sol qui pourrait être de marbre, en  pointe de diamant, tatami ou échiquier géant, elles ressemblent à une petite cour. On imagine celle-ci Reine ou princesse et celles-là sujets, favorites ou demoiselles… Tour, Fou, Cavalier ou simple Pion.  Peut-être parce que ces poupées, en apparence innocentes, cachent une identité plus complexe. Dans la tradition japonaise les jolies et gentilles Kokeshi, fabriquées dans le bois des forêts du Nord-Ouest (région du Tōhoku) lieu ou persiste encore aujourd’hui les traditions chamaniques, ont en effet une fonction plurielle. « Kawaï » et Inquiétantes. Selon la  légende populaire elles sont garantes de sagesse, d’une bonne santé, d’une vie épanouie, on les offrait aux enfants au début de l’hiver et aux beaux jours on les brulait.  Mais il est aussi fréquent d’en envoyer à la place d’un enfant qui ne viendrait pas, ou qui n’est pas venu, en cela on retrouve des similitudes avec les cultures des indiens Hopi d’Arizona et leurs « Kashina » ou bien des Yorubas du Nigeria et leurs « Ibedji »  célébrant le culte des jumeaux.

 

Il serait donc possible que toutes ces représentations des esprits, farceurs, espiègles, bienfaisants ou malfaisants, constituent une sorte d’inventaire du monde visible et invisible. Il est donc logique qu’à la faveur d’une pandémie qui a paralysé durant deux ans et demi le projet Kokeshi de José Lévy et  Juliette de Blegiers, l’esprit même de JL, eut été envouté. Laissant surgir, pour notre plus grand bonheur, quarante-six nouvelles silhouettes virtuelles. Celles-ci colorées et turbulentes, celles-là virevoltantes à la manière d’un derviche ou d’une toupie et abouties sous la forme de NFT.

José Lévy Meurice fauteuils Philippe Stark

©estheteplace

Découvrez-les ici 👉🏼 https://urlz.fr/hN7m
Et rejoignez-nous sur discord : https://lnkd.in/dEUmcUjR

A LIRE AUSSI

M Bonetti Esthete Place

Mattia Bonetti

Designer

Nicolas Lefebvre

Nicolas Lefebvre

Artiste

Maryam Mahdavi

Maryam Mahdavi

architecte d'intérieur

Romain Coulet Esthete place

Romain Coulet

Expert en design XXème