Le GOÛT de... Hubert de Givenchy

Cantor of distinction and refinement Hubert de Givenchy  embodied what is called "the Great French Taste". His sensitivity for the decorative arts of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, reached, in a man of such culture, perfection. But it should not hide that this lover of art and furniture of the XXth Century, also knew how to make daring mixes.

Esthete Place returns here to the fundamentals of the taste of this "Grand Monsieur" ...

Hubert Taffin de Givenchy, was born on February 20, 1927, a father Marquis, attached to the nobility of northern France and a mother from a family of artists daughter of Jules Badin, who was administrator of the Manufacture de Beauvais and the Goblins. This probably explains a sensitivity developed very early on for elegance and refinement and for the decorative arts in particular.

" Luxury is in each detail " repeated the master of chic without fuss. Rigor and refinement are a constant, as in his fashion, but also in his choices of interior decoration. Principles that it applies for its successive Parisian apartments: at 4 rue Fabert (on the Esplanade des Invalides), at the Hôtel de Cavoye (sold to the Bernard Tapie Group),  at the Hôtel d 'Orrouer (located at 87 rue de Grenelle), in its castle in Jonchet (Eure-et-Loir), and in its Villa in Saint Jean Cap Ferrat ... all filled with wonders without overload but with a simple sumptuousness.

Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 17.48.42.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.25.41.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.47.03.png
Detail, Chinese potiches XVIII, small bronze with deer, antique busts
Detail "Attentive Monkey II", 1999, FXL, decoration  for a collector 
Diego Giacometti bronze center table

Everything from the inventor of "separables", the "Bettina" blouse, mythical perfumes: L'Interdit, Irrésistible, Ysatis, Givenchy Gentlemen ..., or even iconic creations that he designed for the one who was the 40-year-old friend, Audrey Hepburn, reflects the harmony of her interiors, and  the result of an obvious meticulous relaxation. 

At Givenchy, sobriety befits its sophistication where everything is a question of balance that sometimes hangs by a thread ...

Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 13.43.30.png
The "Bettina" blouse, named after her favorite model, Béttina Graziani 
Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 15.46.26.png
Perfume "L'Interdit" illustrated by Audrey Hepburn
Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 15.50.53.png

The cabinet with the chariot of Apollo "by André-Charles Boulle

Alexis AND Nicolas KUGEL, Peter FUHRING

We could define the Givenchy signature in its latest decor, the Jonchet manor, by  a style that  results from the perfect mix of respect for the architectural proportions of the place,  clear volumes, noble or natural materials, - exposed stones, rope, woven straw, period woodwork, gilding ... An excellence favored by a palette in light shades or in shades of honey, forming the setting for a choice of precious objects and furniture: silversmith from Augsburg, Limoges enamels, Boulle and other 18th century cabinet and desk, Knoll furniture, Gérard Mille coffee tables for Jansen, Renaissance bronzes, porcelain from the East India Company, sheep or monkeys signed Lalanne, bronze furniture signed by friend Diego Giacometti ..., the whole under the gaze of selected works of art, Picasso, Braque, Fernand Léger or Miro who coexist with Nicholson and Rothko ... the any pretext  to a unique decorum which does not exclude the sense of comfort and the pleasure of living with rigor and restraint ...

Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.03_edited.jpg
1 apartment rue Fabert, 18th century Italian landscape, white slipcovers and Jansen desk
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.17_edited.jpg
2 the Jonchet manor, the large living room
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.06_edited.jpg
The guest room, rue Fabert, four-poster bed and Knoll furniture
His sense of aesthetics had been refined by frequenting artists and merchants in post-war Paris.
"
I used to visit antique shops and they took the time to explain the pieces to me ." Hubert de Givenchy also liked to tell how he had acquired "his" Rothko, during a visit to New York, shortly after the artist's suicide in February 1970, and at the initiative of his friend and client Bunny Mellon.  "We went to the workshop one morning, there were 800 Rothko ... Madame Mellon bought 14 and I decided to take one. At the time Rothko was not that expensive, and he there was no other in Paris " . 
This painting can be seen today at the Fondation Beyeler, Basel.
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 19.09.33.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 19.12.35.png
fig 1 & 2 the apartment rue Fabert; The Boulle desk and cupboard known as "the chariot of Apollo" and having belonged to Misia Sert, responds to the Rothko.  Hubert de Givenchy in 2012, in front of a Bacchus awarded to Girardon.
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.21.41.png
in front of the large drawing of Picasso, in brocade pants, in the 70s
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.45.50.png
the entrance to Jonchet

The decoration was the work of his other life, that of everyday life, which made him rise with the sun, to arrive at the Couture House at 3, avenue George V at 7:00 a.m. every morning. He would then greet his employees, then get to work.  Sometimes he did not hesitate after this daily morning ritual to fly in Concorde so as not to miss the opening time of the Givenchy store at 747 Madison Ave, NY. high standards, hard work, thoroughness and punctuality, always ...

Le GOÛT de... Hubert de Givenchy

Chantre de la distinction et du raffinement Hubert de Givenchy  a incarné ce que l'on appelle " le Grand Goût français". Sa sensibilité pour les arts décoratifs des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, atteint, chez un homme d’une telle culture, la perfection. Mais elle ne doit pas occulter que cet amateur d'art et de mobilier du XXème Siècle, savait aussi faire des mixtes audacieux.

Esthete Place revient ici sur les fondamentaux du goût de ce Grand Monsieur ...

Hubert Taffin de Givenchy, nait le 20 février 1927, un père Marquis, rattaché à la noblesse du nord de la France et une mère issue d’une famille d’artistes fille de Jules Badin, qui fut administrateur de la Manufacture de Beauvais et des Gobelins. Ceci explique probablement une sensibilité développée très tôt pour l' élégance et le raffinement et pour les arts décoratifs en particulier.

"Luxury is in each detail" répétait le maitre du chic sans chichi. Rigueur et raffinement, sont une constante que l'on retrouve chez lui , tout comme dans sa mode, mais aussi dans ses choix de décoration intérieure. Principes qu'il applique pour ses appartements parisiens successifs: au 4 rue Fabert (sur l'esplanade des Invalides), à l'Hôtel de Cavoye (vendu au Groupe Bernard Tapie),  à l'Hôtel d' Orrouer (situé au 87 rue de Grenelle), dans son château du Jonchet (Eure-et-Loir), et dans sa Villa de Saint Jean Cap Ferrat... tous remplis de merveilles sans surcharge mais avec une simple somptuosité.

Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 17.48.42.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.25.41.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.47.03.png
Détail, potiches chinoises XVIII , petits bronze aux cerf, bustes antique
Détail "Singe attentif II", 1999, FXL, décoration  pour un collectionneur 
Table de milieu en bronze Diego Giacometti

Tout chez l'inventeur des "séparables" , de la blouse "Bettina", des parfums mythiques: L'Interdit, Irrésistible, Ysatis, Givenchy Gentlemen..., ou encore des créations iconiques qu'il conçut pour celle qui fut l'amie de 40 ans, Audrey Hepburn, est à l'image de l'harmonie de ses intérieurs, et  résulte d'une évidente décontraction méticuleuse. 

Chez Givenchy la sobriété sied à sa sophistication où tout est une question d'équilibre qui ne tient parfois qu'à un fil...

Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 13.43.30.png
La blouse "Bettina", du nom de son mannequin fétiche, Béttina Graziani 
Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 15.46.26.png
Parfum " L'Interdit " ilustré par Audrey Hepburn
Capture d’écran 2021-11-04 à 15.50.53.png

L'armoire au char d'Apollon" par AC Boulle

ALEXIS ET NICOLAS KUGEL, PETER FUHRING

On pourrait définir la signature Givenchy dans son dernier décor, le manoir du Jonchet, par un style qui résulte du parfait mélange du respect des proportions architecturales du lieu, des volumes nets, des matériaux nobles ou naturels, - pierres apparentes, corde, paille tressée, boiseries d'époques, dorures... Une excellence favorisée par une palette en camaïeux clairs ou dans les tons de miel, formant l'écrin d'un choix d'objets et de mobilier précieux: orfèvrerie d’Augsbourg, émaux de Limoges, armoire et bureau Boulle et autre XVIIIème, mobilier Knoll, tables basses Gérard Mille pour Jansen, bronzes de la Renaissance, porcelaines de la compagnie des Indes, moutons ou singes signés Lalanne, mobilier en bronze signé de l'ami Diego Giacometti..., l'ensemble sous le regard d'œuvres d’art choisies, Picasso, Braque, Fernand Léger ou Miro qui cohabitent avec Nicholson et Rothko... le tout prétexte  à un décorum singulier qui n'exclut pas le sens du confort et le plaisir de vivre tout en rigueur et retenue ...

Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.03_edited.jpg
appartement rue Fabert, paysage Italien XVIIIeme , housses lanches et bureau Jansen
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.17_edited.jpg
le manoir du Jonchet, le grand salon
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 17.06_edited.jpg
La chambre d'amis, rue Fabert, lit a baldaquin et meubles Knoll
Son sens de l'esthétique s'était affiné par une fréquentation des artistes et des marchands, dans le Paris d'après-guerre.
« J
'avais l'habitude de visiter les antiquaires et ils ont pris le temps de m'expliquer les pièces". Hubert de Givenchy aimait aussi raconter comment il avait acquis "son" Rothko, lors d'une visite à New-york , peu après le suicide de l'artiste en Février 1970, et à l'initiative de son amie et cliente Bunny Mellon.  "Nous sommes allés à l'atelier un matin, il y avait 800 Rothko... Madame Mellon en a acheté 14 et j'ai décidé d'en prendre un. A l'époque Rothko n'était pas si cher, et il n'y en avait aucun autre à Paris".  
Cette peinture est aujourd'hui visible à la Fondation Beyeler, Bâle.
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 19.09.33.png
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 19.12.35.png
fig 1 & 2 l'appartement rue Fabert; Le bureau et l'armoire Boulle dite "au char d'Apollon" et ayant appartenu à Misia Sert, répond au Rothko.  Hubert de Givenchy en 2012, devant un Bacchus attribué à Girardon.
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.21.41.png
devant le grand dessin de Picasso, en pantalon de brocart,dans les années 70
Capture d’écran 2021-11-05 à 18.45.50.png
l'entrée du Jonchet

La décoration était l'oeuvre de son autre vie, celle du quotidien, qui le faisait se lever avec le soleil, pour arriver à la Maison de Couture au 3, de l'avenue George V à 7H00 tous les matins. Il saluait alors ses employés, puis se mettait au travail.  Parfois il n'hésitait pas après ce rituel matinal journalier de s'envoler en Concorde pour ne pas manquer l'heure d'ouverture de la boutique Givenchy du 747 Madison Ave, NY. l'exigence, le travail, la rigeur et la ponctualité, toujours...