ANNE SOPHIE DUVAL Gallery celebrates its 50th anniversary       

IN TOWN - In TOWN

Julie Blum, DISCREET ACTION!

by Véronique Dupard-Mandel

Julie Blum Anne Sophie Duval 1 bd.JPG
©estheteplace

The story of the ANNE-SOPHIE DUVAL gallery is told in a feminine way, and in 3 stages: that of the grandmother, Yvette Barran the pioneer. She settled in the 60s at 11 rue Bonaparte (not far from a certain Madeleine Castaing) and specialized in new art. The shop, its American-style bar (and its culinary talents), quickly made it the HQ of a merry Germanopratine band. The witty and delicious Jacques Chazot at the head of the line, followed very quickly by a clientele of passionate collectors. As a child, Julie remembers leaving school, doing her homework "watching these people drinking shots around this bar with funny conversations that I didn' t understand at all".

A few years later, in 1972, Yvette's daughter, Anne-Sophie Duval opened the eponymous gallery at 5 quai Malaquais dedicated, change of era requires, to Art Deco. From her first Biennial, aged only 27, she called on Karl Lagerfeld for the decoration of the stand which still echoes today: black rubber floor, Dunand screen, Eileen Gray table, Ruhlmann coffee table… Very quickly all of Paris fashion and decoration flock to the gallery. It was not uncommon to see Pierre Bergé and Yves Saint Laurent, Angelo Tarlazzi, Micheline Mauss…

Anne Sophie Duval.jpg
Anne-Sophie Duval, portrait

Today, it is Julie Blum, daughter and granddaughter, who officiates. In the family, antiquities are a women story. Even Julie, who had preferred to take a step aside by choosing architecture and settling in London, was overtaken by this family destiny in 2008, when she lost  her mother, Anne- Sophie Duval, prematurely.

 

 

1972-2022 Julie Blum has chosen to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the gallery with a book entitled "Galerie Anne Sophie Duval, 50 ans de Modernité" published by Éditions Gourcuff Gradenigo, in which she pays homage to her predecessors.

It is a joyful, rich, instructive book and by reading it one feels the pleasure that she took   in " the parts dialogue in a fruitful rapprochement that makes sense".

Anne Sophie Duval Livre.jpg
Anne Sophie Duval 1bd .JPG

Julie has a passion for ceramics which she supports by presenting numerous artists and multiplying exhibitions.

“Mithé Espelt (1923-2020) “A modern alchemist”, “Nothing comes by chance” by Ernest Chaplet (1835-1909), one of the pioneers of Art Nouveau ceramics. And currently, a new exhibition with an exceptional set of a hundred pieces by the Bulgarian ceramist Vassil Ivanoff (1897-1973). Pieces dated from the 1950s-60s as well as paintings by the artist. A catalog will accompany the exhibition Vassil Ivanoff, "Un soleil de 1300°C", Editions Gourcuff-Gradenigo.

 

A passion that echoes the family adage: “My mother transmitted to me this intuition which in fact is based on great experience and from which my freedom stems. I grew up in rigor, requirement and aesthetics. »

Vassil Ivanoff portrait.png
Vassil Ivanov, portrait
Vassil Ivanoff Vase _Cubiste_.png
Vassil Ivanoff, "Cubist" vase

la Galerie ANNE SOPHIE DUVAL fête ses 50 ans

EN VILLE - In TOWN

"Julie Blum, ACTION DISCRÈTE!"

par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

Julie Blum Anne Sophie Duval 1 bd.JPG
©estheteplace

L’histoire de la galerie ANNE-SOPHIE DUVAL se raconte au féminin, et en 3 temps : celui de la grand-mère, Yvette Barran la pionnière. Elle s’installe dans les années 60 au 11 rue Bonaparte (pas loin d’une certaine Madeleine Castaing) et se spécialise dans l’art nouveau. La boutique, son bar à l’américaine (et ses talents culinaires), en font vite le QG d’une joyeuse bande germanopratine. Le spirituel et délicieux Jacques Chazot en tête de file, suivi très rapidement par une clientèle de collectionneurs passionnés. Enfant, Julie se souvient à la sortie de l’école, faire ses devoirs « en regardant ces gens qui buvaient des coups autour de ce bar avec de drôles de conversations auxquelles je ne comprenais rien ».

Quelques années plus tard, en 1972, la fille d’Yvette, Anne-Sophie Duval ouvre la galerie éponyme au 5 quai Malaquais dédiée, changement d’époque oblige, à l’art Déco. Dès sa première Biennale, âgée de 27 ans seulement, elle convoque Karl Lagerfeld pour la décoration du stand qui fait encore écho aujourd’hui : sol en caoutchouc noir, paravent Dunand, table Eileen Gray, table basse Ruhlmann…  Très vite le Tout-Paris de la mode et de la décoration se presse à la galerie. Il n’est pas rare d’y voir Pierre Bergé et Yves Saint Laurent, Angelo Tarlazzi, Micheline Mauss…

Anne Sophie Duval.jpg
Anne Sophie Duval, portrait

Aujourd’hui, c’est Julie Blum, fille et petite-fille, qui officie. Dans la famille les antiquités sont une histoire de femmes. Même Julie, qui avait préféré faire un pas de côté en choisissant l’architecture et en s’installant à Londres, fût rattrapée par ce destin familial en 2008, lorsqu’elle perdit  sa mère, Anne-Sophie Duval, prématurément.

 

 

1972-2022 Julie Blum a choisi de fêter les 50 ans de la galerie avec un livre somme "Galerie Anne Sophie Duval, 50 ans de Modernité" paru aux Éditions Gourcuff Gradenigo, dans lequel elle rend hommage à ses prédécesseures.

C’est un livre joyeux, riche, instructif et en le parcourant on ressent le plaisir qu’elle a prît  à « faire dialoguer les pièces dans un rapprochement fructueux qui fait sens ».

Anne Sophie Duval Livre.jpg
Anne Sophie Duval 1bd .JPG

Julie a une passion pour la céramique qu’elle soutient en présentant de nombreux artistes et en multipliant les expositions.

« Mithé Espelt (1923-2020) « Une Alchimiste moderne », « Rien ne vient par hasard » d’Ernest Chaplet (1835-1909), un des pionniers de la céramique Art Nouveau. Et actuellement, une nouvelle exposition avec un ensemble exceptionnel d’une centaine de pièces du céramiste bulgare Vassil Ivanoff (1897-1973). Des pièces datées des années 1950-60 ainsi que des peintures de l’artiste. Un catalogue accompagnera l'exposition Vassil Ivanoff, "Un soleil de 1300°C",

Editions Gourcuff-Gradenigo.

 

Une passion qui fait écho à l‘adage familial : « Ma mère m’a transmis cette intuition qui en fait repose sur grande expérience et dont découle ma liberté. J’ai grandi dans la rigueur, l’exigence et l’esthétisme. »

Vassil Ivanoff portrait.png
Vassil Ivanoff, portrait
Vassil Ivanoff Vase _Cubiste_.png
Vassil Ivanoff, vase "Cubiste"