En attendant les Barbares Bandeau.JPG

WAITING FOR THE BARBARIANS  
four decades of design 

IN TOWN - In TOWN

THE BOOK AS A CHAPTER IN THE HISTORY OF DECORATIVE ARTS

by Philippe Renaud

En attendant les Barbares BD-3.jpg
Agnès Kentish and Philippe Renaud©estheteplace

THE BARBARIAN HORDE

In 1984 a photographer, Roland Beaufre, and a draftsman, Frédéric de Luca, decided to offer amateurs the young creators who contrived to kick annoyed children in the modernist but decidedly bourgeois design codes of the time.  They will orchestrate a whimsical and poetic way, brilliantly served by the excellence of renowned French craftsmen previously under the rule of Frank, Royère, Jansen... No more admiring gaze on the Bauhaus and its avatars, but, eyes wide open on the assemblages of handyman scouts, 50s aesthetics and their small-time Hollywood imagery. The whole crossed with an eclectic culture which makes pages of the history of art declined with greed. A kind of fairy tale enchanted by the young ladies of Rochefort.

En attendant les Barbares BD-10.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-4.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-12.jpg

THE INVASION, AT LAST, UNDER THE LEAD OF THE GB

The budding couple of Garouste and Bonetti discovered at Jansen where they presented their prehistoric furniture for the Vénus de Lespugue of the thirty glorious years is the first stroke of brilliance of Waiting for the Barbarians. We now know the importance of the artifices of these creators, from Le Privilège, the Palace VIP games room, to their presence in all the decorative arts museums in the world. Congratulations to the discoverers who were joined in 1986 by Agnès Bellebeau from the world of advertising who brought an offbeat image to the promising commercial business located near Place des Victoires. She receives customers there dressed as a nun, an ironic nod  to the inspiration of Yohji Yamamoto or Rei Kawakubo, the most cutting-edge designers of the moment. She ostensibly cleans during opening hours in a perversive maid outfit. Unforgettable, the address has become a must for the hipness of the 80s and 90s for all the mad men and women of the great French decoration finally reinvented.

En attendant les Barbares BD-11.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-14.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-18.jpg

THE BARBARIAN GOLD

The list of revelations of Waiting for the Barbarians, these prophets of 90s taste is long and essential: another darling, the Migeon and Migeon, jewelry designers who have become the magic craftsmen of a twisting candlestick in colored resin and translucent, elected unanimously, an essential accessory for the decor of the moment. Patrick Rétif, Eric Schmitt, Christian Ghion, Arik Lévy, Jean-Philippe Gleize, Jean-Jacques Jarrigue and so many others whose history is ephemeral or are now listed in the dictionary of recognized designers.

At the time, going to the showroom of En Attendant les Barbares was a pressing desire, every Saturday, when the tour of the galleries was the obligatory rite of the weekend.

En attendant les Barbares BD-19.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-21.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-23.jpg

THE TIME OF DIVORCE

Fortunately, perhaps, to spread and inspire future generations, good things must come to an end. A small epidemic of divorce profoundly transforms this collective adventure: Agnès and Fréderic, the first, will separate and each on their side will try to continue the adventure, one rue Visconti, the other rue de Grenelle, but the beautiful story is tired and will no longer regain the inventive vigor that had crowned them prophets of design. If Frédéric de Luca returned with a real talent to painting, Agnès Bellebeau… opened, alone, a gallery which still presents the creations of their discoveries of the time. Careful guardian of a rare and precious page in the history of taste in France, an indefatigable researcher, this born collector has the elegance to easily guide her clients and friends towards the young galleries from which she calmly awaits the next generation. after the passage of the Barbarians.

To top it all off, the now legendary duo of Elisabeth and Mattia gets tired of playing their decorative scores with four hands. Their aura remains essential, their talent is still expressed in the rue de Grenelle among other places, but in a solitaire game.

En attendant les Barbares BD-24.jpg

In her role as High Priestess of Remembrance, Agnès Bellebeau-Kentish... wanted to implement with the editions of Regard and Anne Bony, a book that traces the adventure of Waiting for the Barbarians and its discoveries. The elegance of the work leads one to turn the pages with admiration and envy.

En attendant les Barbares BD-9.jpg

* Philippe Renaud is director-artist, scenographer, author. He created the Galerie Travers with William Wheeler and   "Lieux" furniture publishing house in the 90s with Patrice Gruffaz.

En attendant les Barbares Bandeau.JPG

EN ATTENDANT LES BARBARES  
quatre décennies de design 

EN VILLE - In TOWN

"LE LIVRE COMME UN CHAPITRE DE L’HISTOIRE DES ARTS DECORATIFS"

par Philippe Renaud*

En attendant les Barbares BD-3.jpg
Agnès Kentish et Philippe Renaud©estheteplace

LA HORDE DES BARBARES

En 1984 un photographe, Roland Beaufre, et un dessinateur, Frédéric de Luca, décident de proposer aux amateurs les jeunes créateurs qui s’ingénient à donner des coups de pieds d’enfants agacés dans les codes modernistes mais décidément bourgeois du design d’alors. Ils vont orchestrer une voie fantaisiste et poétique, servie avec brio par l’excellence des artisans français renommés auparavant sous la férule des Frank, Royère, Jansen… Fini le regard admiratif sur le Bauhaus et ses avatars, mais, yeux grand-ouverts sur les assemblages des scouts bricoleurs, les esthétiques des années 50 et leur imagerie hollywoodienne à la petite semaine. Le tout mâtiné d’une culture éclectique qui fait des pages de l’histoire de l’art déclinées avec gourmandise. Une sorte de conte de fées enchanté par les demoiselles de Rochefort.

En attendant les Barbares BD-10.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-4.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-12.jpg

L’INVASION, ENFIN, SOUS LA HOULETTE DES GB

Le couple naissant de Garouste et Bonetti découvert chez Jansen où ils ont présenté leur mobilier préhistorique pour les Vénus de Lespugue des trente glorieuses est le premier coup d’éclat d’En Attendant les Barbares. On sait désormais l’importance des artifices de ces créateurs, depuis Le Privilège, la salle de jeux VIP du Palace, jusqu’à leur présence dans tous les musées d’arts décoratifs du Monde. Bravo aux découvreurs qui sont rejoints en 1986 par Agnès Bellebeau venue du monde de la publicité qui apporte à la prometteuse affaire commerciale installée près de la Place des Victoires une image décalée. Elle y reçoit la clientèle habillée en nonne, clin d’œil ironique  à l’inspiration des Yohji Yamamoto ou Rei Kawakubo, les couturiers les plus pointus du moment. Elle fait ostensiblement le ménage aux heures d’ouverture en tenue de soubrette perversive. D’inoubliable, l’adresse devient incontournable de la branchitude des années 80-90 pour tous les fous et les folles de la  grande décoration française enfin réinventée.

En attendant les Barbares BD-17.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-14.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-18.jpg

L’OR DES  BARBARES 

La liste des révélations d’En Attendant les Barbares, ces prophètes du goût des années 90 est longue et essentielle : autre coqueluche, les Migeon et Migeon, des créateurs de bijoux devenus les artisans magiques d’un bougeoir qui se tortille en résine colorée et translucide, élu à l’unanimité, accessoire indispensable des décors du moment. Patrick Rétif, Eric Schmitt, Christian Ghion, Arik Lévy, Jean-Philippe Gleize, Jean-Jacques Jarrigue et tant d’autres à l’histoire éphémère ou bien rangés maintenant dans le dictionnaire des designers reconnus.

A l’époque, le passage au show-room d’En Attendant les Barbares relevait de l’envie pressante, chaque samedi, quand le tour des galeries était le rite obligatoire du week-end.

En attendant les Barbares BD-19.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-21.jpg
En attendant les Barbares BD-23.jpg

LE TEMPS DES DIVORCES

Heureusement, peut être, pour essaimer et inspirer les générations à venir, les bonnes choses ont une fin. Une petite épidémie de divorce transforme profondément cette aventure collective : Agnès et Fréderic, les premiers, vont se séparer et chacun de leur côté tenter de poursuivre l’aventure, l’un rue Visconti, l’autre rue de Grenelle, mais la belle histoire est fatiguée et ne retrouvera plus la vigueur inventive qui les avait sacrés prophètes du design. Si Frédéric de Luca est retourné avec un vrai talent à la peinture, Agnès Bellebeau… a ouvert, seule, une galerie qui présente toujours les créations de leurs découvertes d’alors. Gardienne attentive d’une page, rare et précieuse, de l’histoire du goût en France, infatigable tête chercheuse, cette collectionneuse née, a l’élégance d’orienter facilement ses clients et amis vers les jeunes galeries dont elle attend sereine la relève après le passage des Barbares.

Pour couronner le tout, le duo devenu mythique d’Elisabeth et Mattia se lasse de jouer à quatre mains leurs partitions décoratives. Leur aura reste essentielle, leur talent s’exprime toujours rue de Grenelle entre autres lieux mais en jeu de solitaire.

En attendant les Barbares BD-24.jpg

Dans son rôle de grande prêtresse du souvenir, Agnès Bellebeau-Kentish… a tenu à mettre en œuvre avec les éditions du Regard et Anne Bony, un livre qui retrace l’aventure d’En Attendant Les Barbares et ses découvertes. L’élégance de l’ouvrage pousse à en tourner les pages avec admiration et envie.

En attendant les Barbares BD-9.jpg

* Philippe Renaud est directeur-artiste, scénographe, auteur. Il a crée la Galerie Travers avec William Wheeler et  "Lieux " maison d'édition de mobilier dans les années 90 avec Patrice Gruffaz.