Shocking!

Les Mondes Surréalistes d'Elsa Schiaparelli 

Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris - Jusqu'au 22 Janvier 2023

  In TOWN- En VILLE

                                   Shocking Schiap! 

Feminist, business, marketing and network woman, influencer....

In a word avant-garde,

Elsa Schiaparelli will multiply the "collabs" with the intelligentsia of her time!

In 1922, Elsa the Italian is 32 years old and puts her suitcases in Paris leaving in New York a very chic, very handsome, but very fickle husband. She takes with her her adored granddaughter whom she nicknames "Gogo" and who will become the mother of Marisa Berenson, actress, model and muse of the 70s/80s. , an intellectual and scientific father and an aristocratic mother, Elsa has solid references and a very good education which lead her directly to Paul Poiret, the mentor. The latter, who hates Coco Chanel, "the one who makes women look like undernourished telegraphists, without breasts and without rumps..." to be precipitated in the fall by the bankruptcy of his Haute Couture house, consequence of his delusions of grandeur.

Gogo et Elsa Schiaparelli.jpg
Gogo Elsa Schiaparelli daughter
elsa sciaparelli.png
 Elsa Schiaparelli  
images.jpg
 Marisa Berenson

Elsa thrives in this festive, cosmopolitan and inventive Paris of the Roaring Twenties.

She is still young and if she does not have beauty as an asset, she has spirit and a network. But what will push this woman of the world to work? A desire for emancipation? It's unlikely, but certainly an irresistible desire to shake things up, its scent will be “Shocking” and its color a firecracker pink-violet called “shocking rose”! And also to express her originality, her vitality and her creative soul for her who doesn't even know how to sew.

In Poiret, who liked to surround himself with artists, she borrows Raoul Duffy but times have changed and her most beautiful collaborations will be with Jean Cocteau, Christian Bérard, Marcel Vertés, Man Ray, Meret Oppenheim, Alberto Giacometti, Jean-Michel Frank…. and a young painter who electrifies all of Paris, Salvator Dali.

Elsa Schiaparelli--3.jpg
shoking pink cape and roy soleil embroidery
Elsa Schiaparelli-1-3.jpg
dresses with drawings made by Jean Cocteau
Elsa Schiaparelli gants griffes.JPG
claw gloves
Perfume Shocking! realised and painting, made by Leonor Fini

In the years 1925/30, Dali developed his “paranoiac-critical” method inspired by Freud and his theory on psychoanalysis. It is a question of freely appealing to one's thoughts, dreams and delusions, then to self-analyze the haunting images that inhabit the mind and arise from consciousness. Enough to seduce the whimsical Elsa! Dali is crazy! It's "surrrrrealistic!»

Their complicity will be fertile ground for multiple creations from 1936 to 1939.

elsa sciaparelli chapeau chaussure copie.png
hat shoe
Elsa Schiaparelli-3-5.jpg
trompe l'oeil patterned dress, tears
Elsa Schiaparelli--25.jpg
lobster dress
apron dress in rhodophane 1935

By browsing this magnificent retrospective of the MAD, under the curatorship of Marie-Sophie Carron de la Carrière and a scenography by Nathalie Crinière, on  can conclude that thanks to her talent and her brilliant intuitions, she determined fashion for future generations. 1927, the first collection, small sweaters with trompe l'oeil knot patterns refer to Sonia Rykiel, the skeleton dress or the raffia suit to Mugler, the drawer suits to Jean-Paul Gaultier, the butterflies to Alaia and even John Galliano him paid homage with the newspaper clippings print that refers to the 1935 “Stop, Look & Listen” collection. These multiple and abundant references are very well represented in the exhibition.

collection, stop, look and listen 1935
Elsa Schiaparelli expo papillons.JPG
Elsa Schiaparelli butterfly dress
Elsa Schiaparelli-7.jpg
little sweaters with trompe l'oeil patterns, 1927
John Galliano collection
Alaïa butterfly dresses
contemporary creations and portraits of Elsa Schiaparelli 

On the "suppliers" side, she also surrounds herself with masters and avant-gardes, Jean Dunand, Jean Schlumberger, Albert Lesage for embroidery, Alberto Giacometti for jewelry and for the decoration of her new fashion house 21, Place Vendôme: Jean-Michel Frank.

Business woman, she has declined a whole range of beauty products, perfumes but also powders, make-up, oils... It is still Jean-Michel Frank who will have this brilliant idea to create a huge presentation cage in golden bamboo in the entrance to his shop.

Elsa Schiaparelli A Giacometti.jpg
Buttons and Brooches, Alberto Giacometti
Elsa Schiaparelli expo JM Frank.JPG
Decor at 21, place Vendôme, Alberto Giacometti and Jean-Michel Frank
La cage à Oiseaux, perfume cage in the entrance of the shop, at 21 place Vendôme
 Elsa Schiaparelli expo parfum JMF.JPG
Salut! perfume, Jean-Michel Frank bottle

Then comes to mind this advertising clip (1991), directed by Jean-Paul Goude: Vanessa Paradis adorned with rooster feathers whistling a heady tune for Coco de Chanel in a birdcage… here again the Schiaparelli influence is obvious .

Today, the Schiaparelli couture house has returned to its mythical address at 21 Place Vendôme and a designer up to the task at hand, Daniel Roseberry. With his singular talent, the latter made it a standard for France during the inauguration of American President Jo Biden, by dressing Lady Gaga! Paul Poiret would have said “by dressing the era” The circle is complete, the master can be proud of the heritage.

elsa Schiaparelli zodiaque.JPG
The signs of the Zodiac, the circus, the mixed ones of yesterday and today
Elsa Schiaparelli Lady Gaga.jpg
Lady Gaga dress, daniel roseberry for Schiparelli

Shocking! The Surrealist Worlds of Elsa Schiaparelli -

Paris Museum of Decorative Arts

Until January 22, 2023

Shocking!

Les Mondes Surréalistes d'Elsa Schiaparelli 

Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris - Jusqu'au 22 Janvier 2023

EN VILLE - In TOWN

                                                    
Féministe, femme d’affaire, de marketing et de réseaux, influenceuse....
En un mot avant-gardiste,
Elsa Schiaparelli multipliera les « collabs » avec l’intelligentsia de son époque !
Par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

En 1922, Elsa l’italienne a 32 ans et pose ses valises à Paris laissant à New-york un mari très chic, très beau, mais très volage. Elle emmène avec elle sa petite fille adorée qu’elle surnomme « Gogo » et qui deviendra la mère de Marisa Berenson, actrice, mannequin et égérie des années 70/80.  Issue de la grande bourgeoisie romaine, un père intellectuel et scientifique et une mère aristocrate, Elsa a de solides références et une très bonne éducation qui la conduisent directement chez Paul Poiret, le mentor. Ce dernier, qui déteste Coco Chanel, « celle qui donne aux femmes des allures de télégraphistes sous-alimentées, sans poitrine et sans croupe… »  aura le temps de lui transmettre ses bons préceptes, avant d’être précipité dans la chute par la faillite de sa maison de Haute Couture, conséquence de sa folie des grandeurs.

Gogo et Elsa Schiaparelli.jpg
Gogo & Elsa Schiaparelli              
elsa sciaparelli.png
 Elsa Schiaparelli  
images.jpg
 Marisa Berenson

Elsa s’épanouit dans ce Paris festif, cosmopolite et inventif des années folles.

Elle est encore jeune et si elle n’a pas la beauté pour atout elle a de l’esprit et un réseau. Mais qu’est-ce qui va pousser cette femme du monde à travailler ? Une envie d'émancipation ? C'est peu probable, mais très certainement une irrésistible envie de bousculer, son parfum sera « Shocking » et sa couleur, un rose-violet pétard dit « rose shocking » ! Et aussi d’exprimer son originalité, sa vitalité et son âme de créatrice pour elle qui ne sait pas même coudre.

A Poiret, qui aimait s’entourer d’artistes, elle emprunte Raoul Duffy mais les temps ont changé et ses plus belles collaborations se feront avec Jean Cocteau, Christian Bérard, Marcel Vertés, Léonor Fini, Man Ray, Meret Oppenheim, Alberto Giacometti, Jean-Michel Frank …. et un jeune peintre qui électrise le Tout-Paris, Salvator Dali.

Elsa Schiaparelli--3.jpg
cape rose shoking et broderies roy soleil
Elsa Schiaparelli-1-3.jpg
robes aux dessin réalisés par Jean Cocteau
Elsa Schiaparelli gants griffes.JPG
gants griffes
Flacon Shocking! et peinture, réalisés par Leonor Fini

Dans les années 1925/30, Dali élabore sa méthode « paranoïaque-critique » inspirée par Freud et sa théorie sur la psychanalyse. Il s’agit de faire librement appel à ses pensées, ses rêves et à ses délires, puis d’auto-analyser les images obsédantes qui habitent l’esprit et surgissent de la conscience. De quoi séduire Elsa la fantasque ! Dali c’est fou ! C’est

« surrrrréaliste! »

Leur complicité va être un terrain fertile à de multiples créations de1936 à 1939.

elsa sciaparelli chapeau chaussure copie.png
chapeau chaussure
Elsa Schiaparelli-3-5.jpg
robe motifs trompe l'oeil, déchirures
Elsa Schiaparelli--25.jpg
robe homard
robe tablier en rhodophane 1935

En parcourant cette magnifique rétrospective du MAD, sous le commissariat de Marie-Sophie Carron de la Carrière et  scénographiée par Nathalie Crinière, on  peut conclure à l’évidence, grâce à son talent  et ses intuitions géniales, elle a déterminé la mode pour les générations futures. 1927, la première collection, des petits pulls aux motifs nœuds en trompe l’œil renvoient à Sonia Rykiel, la robe squelette ou le tailleur raffia à Mugler, les tailleur tiroirs à Jean-Paul Gaultier, les papillons à Alaia et même John Galliano lui rendit hommage avec l’imprimé coupures de journaux qui renvoie à la collection de 1935 « Stop, Look & Listen ». Ces références multiples et foisonnantes sont très bien représentées dans l’exposition.

collection, stop, look and listen 1935
Elsa Schiaparelli expo papillons.JPG
Robe papillons Elsa Schiaparelli
Elsa Schiaparelli-7.jpg
les petits pulls aux motifs en trompe l'oeil, 1927
collection John Galliano
Robes papillons Alaïa
créations contemporaines et portraits d'Elsa Schiaparelli 

Côté « fournisseurs », elle s’entoure également des maîtres et des avant-gardes, Jean Dunand, Jean Schlumberger, Albert Lesage pour les broderies, Alberto Giacometti pour les bijoux et pour la décoration de sa nouvelle maison de couture du  21, Place Vendôme : Jean-Michel Frank.

Femme d’affaire, elle a décliné toute une gamme de produits de beauté, parfums mais aussi poudres, fards, huiles... C’est encore Jean-Michel Frank qui aura cette idée géniale de créer une immense cage de présentation en bambous dorés dans l’entrée de sa boutique.

Elsa Schiaparelli A Giacometti.jpg
Boutons et broches, Alberto Giacometti
Elsa Schiaparelli expo JM Frank.JPG
Décor du 21, place Vendôme, Alberto Giacometti et Jean-Michel Frank
La cage à Oiseaux, cage à parfums dans l'entrée de la boutique, au 21 place Vendôme
 Elsa Schiaparelli expo parfum JMF.JPG
Parfum Salut, Flacon Jean-Michel Frank

Nous revient alors à l’esprit ce clip publicitaire (1991), réalisé par Jean-Paul Goude: Vanessa Paradis parée de plumes de coq sifflotant un air entêtant pour Coco de Chanel dans une cage à oiseaux… ici encore l’influence Schiaparelli est évidente.

Aujourd’hui la Maison de couture Schiaparelli a retrouvé son adresse mythique du 21 de la place Vendôme et un styliste à la hauteur de la tâche à accomplir, Daniel Roseberry. De son talent singulier, ce dernier en a fait un étendard pour la France lors de l’investiture du président américain Jo Biden, en habillant Lady Gaga ! Paul Poiret aurait dit « en habillant l’époque » La boucle est bouclée, le maître peut être fier de l’héritage.

elsa Schiaparelli zodiaque.JPG
Les signes du Zodiaques, le cirque, les mixtes d'hier et d'aujourd'hui
Elsa Schiaparelli Lady Gaga.jpg
Robe Lady Gaga, daniel roseberry pour Schiparelli

Shocking! Les Mondes Surréalistes d'Elsa Schiaparelli -

Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris

Jusqu'au 22 Janvier 2023