LE GOÛT de ... Christian Dior

Gallery owner, designer, painter, as much as gardener, nature lover,

gardens, flowers, and ... passionately roses ...

Gourmet, greedy, friend of decorators, artists ...

... such is in fact, the complex personality of Christian Dior.

He was born in 1905, in a wealthy industrialists family. It is in this house, in Normandy, in Granville , a pretty bourgeois villa with a pink facade and a grey roof, with its park facing the peaceful Channel Islands, that his passion for the art of the garden will be born. shared with his beloved mother, Madeleine. Christian Dior is particularly fond of this place and will write in his memoir book, "Christian Dior et moi"   “The house of my childhood ... I have the fondest and most amazed memories of it. What did I say ? my life, my style, owe almost everything to its location and its architecture ”.

GRANVILLE .jpg
horizon%2Fimages_additionnelles%2FY09960
5N7B1879 copie.jpg

His parents having diplomatic ambitions for their son, the young Christian Dior joined Sciences Po ' (politics) at the age of 18.

When it came out, it was a completely different passion that retained all its ambition.

He is in his twenties, and divides his time between the family home of Granville and the capital where he befriends the composer Henri Sauguet and spends most of his evenings at the Bœuf sur le Toit with Erik Satie, Jean Cocteau, or Fernand Léger… It is in this Paris of the Roaring Twenties, where the literary, artistic and musical avant-garde of the 1920s rub shoulders, that the fate of this young man who dreams of being an artist is sealed. Christian Dior aspires to be an architect, painter or even a musician. He will ultimately be a gallery owner.

From 1928 associated with Jacques Bonjean then with Pierre Colle, he contributed to reveal the talent of Max Jacob, the Berman brothers, Raoul Dufy, Giorgio de Chirico or Salvator Dali, before the explosion of the crisis of 29, caused ruin of his father and leads to the closing of the galleries. The adventure ended in 1934.

It will follow a "crossing of the desert", a period during which he will sell fashion sketches to newspapers, then to big houses like Nina Ricci or Balenciaga, before the Second World War breaks out.

4-dufy.jpg
le-mystere-de-jean-l-oiseleur.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-01-15 à 18.35.58.

At the end of the war, the decisive meeting with Marcel Boussac marked the start of another adventure in 1946, that of the creation of the Couture house Christian Dior.

Thus begins the third part of the life of the talented Monsieur Dior. The metamorphosis of the gallery owner into a great couturier and the enduring links with artists, whether they are painters, photographers, writers, poets, musicians or decorators. We will particularly remember here Christian Bérard, Victor Grandpierre, Georges Geffroy for the decoration of his shops and apartments and René Gruau for the creation and illustration of his advertisements.

LE GRIS BOUTIQUE.jpg

30, Avenue Montaigne

images.jpg

Christian Bérard and Jean-Michel frank, screen

dior decorateur.jpg

Victor Grandpierre and Christian Dior

  It was Victor Grandpierre who imagined the “decorated but not decorative” atmosphere of 30 avenue Montaigne, which has become famous for its Helleu salon, white and pearl gray, its Louis XVI-inspired medallion chairs.

Victor Grandpierre and Georges Geffroy with whom he forms an outstanding creative trio. their collaboration and elective friendship helped build Dior identity codes, tributes to the neoclassical style.

For his apartment on Boulevard Jules-Sandeau in the 16th arrondissement, the couturier will call on another of his relatives, the designer Georges Geffroy. This craftsman of the Dior style composes, alongside Victor Grandpierre, a plush interior where all the artistic tastes of the creator flourish in an abundant and refined eclecticism. Drawing by Matisse, Gothic tapestry, Renaissance bronze… find harmony here, a unique Blue Note. "The rules of good taste do not matter since they must, in my home, give way to those of my own taste, which adapts very well to all these connections ", confides Christian Dior in his autobiography before adding that " to an impeccably decorated interior ”, he will always prefer“ one, more sensitive and more alive, which has been made little by little, according to the existence and the whims of its inhabitant ”.

Finally, to evoke Christian Dior without speaking of the Epicurean is to miss an essential facet of his personality. "A man who possessed a sense and a cult of beauty, always in search of perfection, man of spirit and heart, fine gourmet, for whom the things of the table and of gastronomy were the work of God and of men " . Preface by Raymond Thuilier for the book "La Cuisine cousu main" Christian Dior

DIOR CUIS 3 copie.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.58.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.40.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.55.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.06.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.48.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.13.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.50.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.21.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.28.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.38.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.18.12.

Le GOÛT de... Christian Dior

Galeriste, dessinateur, peintre, tout autant que jardinier, amoureux de la nature,

des jardins, des fleurs, violettes, muguet et , passionnément des roses...

Gourmand, gourmet, ami des décorateurs, des artistes ... 

... tel est en fait, la personnalité, complexe, de Christian Dior.

Il nait en 1905, dans une famille d'industriels aisés. C'est dans cette maison, en Normandie, à Granville, une jolie villa bourgeoise à la façade rose et au toit gris, avec son parc faisant face aux paisibles Îles anglo-normandes, que naîtra sa passion de l'art du jardin, passion partagée avec sa mère, Madeleine.  Christian Dior affectionne particulièrement ce lieu et écrira dans son livre mémoires, "Christian Dior et moi" « la maison de mon enfance... j'en garde le souvenir le plus tendre et le plus émerveillé. Que dis-je ? ma vie, mon style, doivent presque tout à sa situation et à son architecture ».

GRANVILLE .jpg
horizon%2Fimages_additionnelles%2FY09960
5N7B1879 copie.jpg

Ses parents ayant des ambitions diplomatiques pour leur fils, le jeune Christian Dior intègre Sciences Po’ à l’âge de 18 ans.

A sa sortie, c'est une tout autre passion qui retient toute son ambition.

Il a une vingtaine années, et partage son temps entre la maison familiale de Granville et la capitale où il se lie d'amitié avec le compositeur Henri Sauguet, fréquente le Bœuf sur le Toit avec Erik Satie, Jean Cocteau, ou encore Fernand Léger… C’est dans ce Paris des années folles où se côtoie l’avant-garde littéraire, artistique et musicale des années 1920, que se scelle le destin de ce jeune homme qui rêve d’être un artiste. Christian Dior aspire à être architecte, peintre ou encore musicien. Il sera finalement galeriste.

Dès 1928 associé à Jacques Bonjean puis à Pierre Colle, il contribue à révéler le talent de Max Jacob, des frères Berman, de Raoul Dufy, Giorgio de Chirico ou Salvato Dali, avant que la déflagration du krach boursier américain de 1929 ne cause la ruine de son père et entraine la fermeture de nombreuses galeries parisiennes. L'aventure prend fin en 1934.

Il s'en suivra une "traversée du désert", période au cours de laquelle il vendra des croquis de mode à des journaux dont le Figaro, puis à des grandes maisons comme Nina Ricci ou Balenciaga, avant que la seconde guerre mondiale n’éclate.

4-dufy.jpg
le-mystere-de-jean-l-oiseleur.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-01-15 à 18.35.58.

A la fin de la guerre la rencontre décisive avec Marcel Boussac marquera le départ d'une autre aventure en 1946, celle de la création de la maison de Couture Christian Dior.

Ainsi commence le troisième volet de la vie du talentueux Monsieur Dior. La métamorphose du galeriste en grand couturier et sa collaboration avec les artistes, qu’ils soient peintres, photographes, écrivains, poètes, musiciens ou décorateurs. On retiendra ici particulièrement, Christian Bérard, Victor Grandpierre, Georges Geffroy à la décoration de ses boutiques et appartements et René Gruau à la création et illustration de ses publicités, parfum et Couture.

LE GRIS BOUTIQUE.jpg

Le 30, Avenue Montaigne

images.jpg

Christian Bérard et Jean-Michel frank, paravent

dior decorateur.jpg

Victor Grandpierre et Christian Dior

C’est Victor Grandpierre qui imagine l’atmosphère « décorée mais non décorative » du 30, avenue Montaigne, devenue célèbre pour son salon Helleu, blanc et gris perle, ses chaises médaillon d’inspiration Louis XVI.

Victor Grandpierre et Georges Geffroy avec qui il forme un trio créatif hors-pair. leur collaboration et amitié élective ont contribué à bâtir les codes identitaires Dior, hommages au style néoclassique. 

Pour son appartement du boulevard Jules-sandeau dans le 16ème arrondissement, le couturier fera appel à un autre de ses proches, le dessinateur Georges Geffroy. Cet artisan du style Dior compose, aux côtés de Victor Grandpierre, un intérieur cossu où s’épanouissent, dans un éclectisme foisonnant et raffiné, tous les goûts artistiques du créateur. Dessin de Matisse, tapisserie gothique, bronze de la Renaissance… trouvent ici l’harmonie, une Note Bleue unique. « Peu importent les règles du bon goût puisqu’elles doivent, dans ma demeure, céder à celles de mon goût à moi qui s’accommode très bien de tous ces rapprochements » , confie Christian Dior dans son autobiographie avant d’ajouter qu’  « à un intérieur impeccablement décoré », il préférera toujours « celui, plus sensible et plus vivant, qui s’est fait petit à petit, au gré de l’existence et des caprices de son habitant ».

Enfin, évoquer christian Dior sans parler de l'épicurien, c'est manquer une facette essentiel de sa personnalité. "Un homme qui possédait le sens et le culte du beau, toujours à la recherche de la perfection, homme d'esprit et de coeur, fin gourmet, pour qui les choses de la table et

de la gastronomie étaient oeuvre de Dieu et des hommes". Préface de Raymond Thuilier pour le livre "La Cuisine cousu main" Christian Dior

suivre ce lien https://diorpress.com/la_cuisine_cousu-main/

DIOR CUIS 3 copie.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.58.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.40.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.55.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.06.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.48.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.13.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.50.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.21.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.17.28.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.16.38.
Capture d’écran 2021-01-17 à 22.18.12.