__CHARLES TASSIN 6658 BANDEAU.JPG

Charles Tassin, 
interior decorator

The Charles Tassin style...
by Véronique Dupard-Mandel

__Charles Tassin 6633 BD.JPG
©estheteplace
Posted on May 16, 2022

Charles TASSIN' style?  Beautiful and sexy like a Gainsbourian chorus!

With some  CLIP! CRAP! BANG! SHEBAM! POW! BLOP! WIZZ! and with panache!

 It is true that, better than anyone, Charles Tassin embodies this Pompidoulian current “at the same time a mixture of tradition, anchoring in French culture and modernity.  Agam and Paulin against a backdrop of Louis XVI woodwork”, as he himself defines it.  Add a James Bondian sprinkling, for the use of metal on the walls, (golden, bronze or silver), wooden furniture that imitates bronze  and the sophistication of the marquetry, the lacquers … soft, imposing sofas and the color of whipped cream (which calls for the throw in Guanaco) attract you like a magnet. Floors covered with diamond-point parquet, thick carpets or XXL rugs with abstract or floral motifs, in soft monochrome tones. In summary, a concern for comfort and extreme luxury without being excessive, never flashy. A game of balance between eras from which results the harmony of styles. "The great masters like Henri Samuel, it will always work". And if all the furniture is presented in light tones, the chromatic bias of the walls of the gallery, Indian green or burnt ocher indicates the ease of the master in playing with colors.

__Charles Tassin 6707 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6697 BD.JPG

I am a decorator and interior designer, interior designer because I transform places, modify the structure, the space, the stairs, the walls...  but I love the term decorator in the tradition of the 1940s, that is to say interior decorators. My great masters are Marc du Plantier, Arbus, Subes, Pascaud, Prou and so many others. I execute, from the concrete to the teaspoon. And my real moment of happiness and freedom is when I draw furniture, alone on my drawing board, it's my childhood dream.

 

 

With Maylis, his wife and partner, they will soon be celebrating the 10th anniversary of the first Galerie May-Charles Tassin. “28m2 of pure intensity created in the spring of 2012 at 23 rue de Lille. The postulate of the May gallery was the opposite of the prevailing minimalism at the time. A very strong setting, with incredible walls, metal frames, brown ceilings, a profusion of objects, a sort of modern baroque inspired by the 60s, but never copied. In this spectacular setting  we put our creations mixed with works of art, sculptures and other antiques”. Today the gallery at n°23 has a big sister at n°34 opposite.

__charles tassin6701 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6712 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6703 BD.JPG

In the meantime, sitting on his couch  "Martt"  we curl up, we close our eyes, and comes the vision of a kicked BB…“Don't be afraid baby, hold on CHRACK! I'm here CRASH! to protect you TCHLACK! Close your eyes CRACK! kiss me SMACK!
 

SHEBAM! POW! BLOP! WIZZ!
SHEBAM! POW! BLOP! WIZZZZZ!

copyright©estheteplace

__CHARLES TASSIN 6658 BANDEAU.JPG

Charles Tassin,  
décorateur d'intérieur

Le style Charles Tassin...
par Véronique Dupard-Mandel

__Charles Tassin 6633 BD.JPG
©estheteplace
Publié le 16 mai 2022

Le style Charles TASSIN ?  Beau et sexy comme un refrain Gainsbourien!

Avec des  CLIP ! CRAP ! BANG ! SHEBAM ! POW ! BLOP ! WIZZ ! et avec du panache !

 Il est vrai que, mieux que personne, Charles Tassin incarne ce courant Pompidolien « à la fois mélange de tradition, d’ancrage dans la culture française et de modernité.  "Agam et Paulin sur fond de boiseries Louis XVI », comme il le définit lui-même.  Ajoutez un saupoudrage James Bondien, pour l’utilisation du métal sur les murs, (doré, bronze ou argenté), un mobilier en bois qui imite le bronze  et qui vous attire comme un aimant, la sophistication de la marqueterie, des laques … des canapés softs, imposants et couleur de chantilly (qui appellent le jeté en Guanaco). Des sols recouverts de parquets en pointe diamant, d’épaisses moquettes ou de tapis XXL aux motifs abstraits ou floraux, aux tonalités douces en camaïeux. En résumé un souci du confort et du luxe extrême sans être excessif, jamais tapageur. Un jeu d’équilibre entre les époques duquel résulte l’harmonie des styles. « Les grands maîtres comme Henri Samuel, ça marchera toujours ». Et si l’ensemble du mobilier est présenté dans des tons clairs le parti pris chromatique des murs de la galerie, vert indien ou ocre brulé indique la facilité du maître à se jouer des couleurs.

__Charles Tassin 6707 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6697 BD.JPG

"Je suis décorateur et architecte d’intérieur, architecte d’intérieur parce que je transforme les lieux, modification de la structure, de l’espace, des escaliers, des murs…  mais j’adore le terme de décorateur dans la tradition des années 40, c’est à dire des décorateurs ensembliers. Mes grands maîtres sont Marc du Plantier, Arbus, Subes, Pascaud, Prou et tant d’autres. J’exécute, du béton jusqu’à la petite cuillère. Et mon vrai moment de bonheur et de liberté c’est lorsque je dessine des meubles, seul sur ma table à dessin, c’est mon rêve d’enfant."

 

 

Avec Maylis, sa femme et associée, ils vont bientôt fêter les 10 ans de la première Galerie May-Charles Tassin. « 28m2 d’intensité pure crée au printemps 2012 au 23 de la rue de Lille. Le postulat de la galerie May c’était l’opposé du minimalisme ambiant à l’époque. Un écrin très fort, avec des murs incroyables, des chambranles en métal, des plafonds bruns, une profusion d’objets, une sorte de baroque moderne inspiré des années 60, mais jamais copié. Dans cet écrin spectaculaire  on a mis nos créations mélangées à des œuvres d’art, sculptures et autres antiquités ». Aujourd’hui la galerie du n°23 à une grande sœur au n° 34 en face.

__charles tassin6701 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6712 BD.JPG
__Charles Tassin 6703 BD.JPG

En attendant, assis dans son canapé  « Martt »  on se love, on ferme les yeux, et arrive la vision d’une BB bottée …« N'aie pas peur bébé agrippe-toi CHRACK ! Je suis là CRASH ! pour te protéger TCHLACK ! Ferme les yeux CRACK ! embrasse-moi SMACK !
 

SHEBAM ! POW ! BLOP ! WIZZ !
SHEBAM ! POW ! BLOP ! WIZZZZZ !

copyright©estheteplace