Albert (Abraham) Kahn (1860 – 1940)
The man who wanted to inventory the world!

The Albert Kahn Departmental Museum is a cultural and natural gem where diversity reigns supreme!

A museum-garden that allows you to better understand  the man who built this photographic and botanical work.

 

ALBERT KAHN and his humanist project:

At the beginning of the 20th century Albert Kahn, a banker whose career and notoriety are established in France and abroad, decides to devote his life and his fortune to his ideal of universal peace.

 

A man of networks and influence, the philanthropic banker   created a dozen foundations intended to promote understanding between peoples and international cooperation: knowing the world to promote peace "seeing, knowing, foreseeing is Albert Kahn's motto.

Albert Kahn-8746.jpg
download.jpg
Albert Kahn musée 8926 BD.JPG

Among the support funds and scholarships  "Around the World" that it creates, it offers future teachers   the opportunity to travel and discover the realities of the world. Fellows then share their experiences with various personalities within the Society Around the World (SAM).

 

"The Archives of the Planet" materializes Albert Kahn's desire to better understand humanity. The visual component of his project, he brings together  approximately 72,000 autochromes, (colour plates) around a hundred hours of black and white films, 4,000 stereoscopies, a photographic technique in relief which bears witness to the various aspects of human societies.

 

An ethnographic project which is coupled with a singular botanical creation.

Albert Kahn-8757.jpg
Albert Kahn-2.jpg
Albert Kahn-9306.jpg
Albert Kahn-8779-2.jpg
Albert Kahn8912 BD.JPG
Albert Kahn-9354.jpg

As early as 1909, Albert Kahn implemented an ambitious global visual inventory project, the Archives de la Planète, in order to record through images "the practices and lifestyles of human activity whose fatal disappearance is not more than a matter of time".

Albert Kahn 8773 BD.JPG
Albert Kahn8776 BD.JPG

On nearly 4 hectares on his property in Boulogne-sur-Seine, Albert Kahn invented at the beginning of the 20th century an exceptional garden that echoes the diversity of the world. This plant treasure brings together French garden, English garden, blue forest, Vosges forest, Japanese garden and a greenhouse.

Albert Kahn-9246.jpg
Albert Kahn-8836.jpg
Albert Kahn 9394 bd .JPG
Albert Kahn jardin 8963 bd.JPG

The philanthropic and utopian banker  driven by the desire to work for a reconciled world, intended to promote understanding between peoples will be ruined after the stock market crash of 29. He sold his property in 1936 to the Seine department, but kept the right to use the premises until his death in 1940. He did not survive the outbreak of the Second World War, the third war of his life.

Albert Kahn-9065.jpg
Albert Kahn-8803.jpg
Albert Kahn-8809.jpg
Albert Kahn-9501.jpg
Albert Kahn jardin 9057 bd.JPG
Albert Kahn 8900 copie.JPG
©estheteplace

Today his work and the mission he had given himself, “To pass on to future generations this living cultural and natural heritage” finally takes on its full measure, it is up to us to enjoy and explore it.

Albert (Abraham) Kahn (1860 – 1940)
L’homme qui voulait inventorier le monde !

EN VILLE - In TOWN

Le Musée départemental Albert Kahn est un joyau culturel et naturel où règne en majesté la diversité !

Un musée-jardin qui permet de mieux comprendre  l’homme qui a construit cette oeuvre photographique et botanique.

 

ALBERT KAHN et son projet humaniste:

Au début du XXème Albert Kahn, banquier dont la carrière et la notoriété sont établies en France comme à l’étranger, décide de consacrer sa vie et sa fortune à son idéal de paix universelle.

 

Homme de réseaux et d’influence, le banquier philanthrope  crée une dizaine de fondations destinées à favoriser la compréhension entre les peuples et la coopération internationale : connaître le monde pour favoriser la paix « voir, savoir, prévoir », telle est la devise d’Albert Kahn.

Albert Kahn-8746.jpg
download.jpg
Albert Kahn musée 8926 BD.JPG

Il crée de nombreux fonds de soutiens et des bourses  parmi lesquelles « Autour du Monde ». Ainsi de futurs enseignants  acquièrent l'opportunité de voyager et de découvrir les réalités du monde. Les boursiers partagent ensuite leurs expériences avec diverses personnalités au sein de la Société Autour du Monde (SAM).

 

« Les Archives de la Planète », matérialise la volonté d’Albert Kahn de mieux comprendre l’humanité. Volet visuel de son projet, il rassemble  environ 72000 autochromes, (plaques en couleur) une centaine d’heures de films en noir et blanc, 4000 stéréoscopies, technique photographique en relief qui témoignent des divers aspects des sociétés humaines.

 

Un projet ethnographique qui se double d’une création botanique singulière.

Albert Kahn-8757.jpg
Albert Kahn-2.jpg
Albert Kahn-9306.jpg
Albert Kahn-8779-2.jpg
Albert Kahn8912 BD.JPG
Albert Kahn-9354.jpg

Dès 1909, Albert Kahn met en oeuvre un ambitieux projet d'inventaire visuel mondial, les Archives de la Planète, afin de fixer par l'image "les pratiques et des modes de vies de l'activité humaine dont la disparition fatale n'est plus qu'une question de temps".

Albert Kahn 8773 BD.JPG
Albert Kahn8776 BD.JPG

Sur près de 4 hectares dans sa propriété de Boulogne-sur-Seine, Albert Kahn invente au début du XXème siècle, un jardin d’exception qui fait écho à la diversité du monde. Ce trésor végétal réunit jardin français, jardin anglais, forêt bleue, forêt vosgienne, jardin japonais et une serre monumentale.

Albert Kahn-9246.jpg
Albert Kahn-8836.jpg
Albert Kahn 9394 bd .JPG
Albert Kahn jardin 8963 bd.JPG

Mais le banquier philanthrope et utopiste, animé par la volonté d’œuvrer pour un monde réconcilié, un monde destiné à favoriser la compréhension entre les peuples, sera ruiné après le krach boursier de 29.  Il cède sa propriété en 1936 au département des Hauts de Seine, mais garde un droit de jouissance des lieux jusqu’à son décès en 1940. Il ne survivra pas à la déclaration de la seconde guerre mondiale, la troisième guerre de sa vie.

Albert Kahn-9065.jpg
Albert Kahn-8803.jpg
Albert Kahn-8809.jpg
Albert Kahn-9501.jpg
Albert Kahn jardin 9057 bd.JPG
Albert Kahn 8900 copie.JPG
©estheteplace

Aujourd’hui son œuvre et la mission qu’il s’était donnée, « Transmettre aux générations futures ce patrimoine culturel et naturel vivant » prend enfin toute sa mesure, à nous d'en profiter et d'explorer.